If Japan goes, I'm going with them, and love letters


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
October 25th 2014
Published: October 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

My letterMy letterMy letter

This is my first letter in complete Hiragana and Kanji. I think I may have gotten a few wrong but essentially it's just a few simple sentences we usually say to each other. Last night when I felt sad, I read a postcard he sent to me and it just restored any doubts I'd had. He said he felt lucky and when I read it again, so did I.
After finally getting back on track with my life and college, I had some time with my dad for the first time in ages. Then I get home and my life starts collapsing in on me once again- I read in the news about an eruption, I remember briefly a while ago about a small volcanic eruption but I can't imagine what they're saying now-

Japan could be destroyed within the next 100 years in giant volcanic eruption, scientists claim



This is a horrific devastation to me in so many ways, the tornado in the Philippines last year was upsetting to hear too especially as it's a poorer country. At the moment it's quite difficult to stomach what I've just read. Yesterday, dad was driving home and I was in the car with him when suddenly my car jumped out of no where, dad felt a bump and hit the breaks and he shouted before I could and before I knew it I was crying- this isn't a particularly likeable cat, and I was amazed I reacted the way I did but it was that one moment that I realised I would be lost without her and how much I really do love her.
I guess I'm going through the same with Japan, I couldn't live in a world where it doesn't exist- even though I've yet to go there and really discover it, I've loved it for too long to care. I've met some really nice people who live or have lived there and all love life there.

I was very disappointed with the response towards this news, I read this on the Daily Mail, not very reliable for the facts but it got me thinking and some people were sad, not devastated but sad for all the people, others sneered and said it was payback time! I couldn't believe how much some people dislike it there, I believe it's something to do with the war, but the young people today do not need to suffer or be blamed for something that happened a long time ago.



The other day I got two postcards from my boyfriend the other day, I was excited to receive them. One in English and another in Japanese by his mother- he just talked about looking forward to meeting me again, I'm happy he's enthusiastic about my stay- I spent hours making an itinerary to plan this trip from expenses of tickets, insurance to weather conditions and currency conversions so that everything will go right. If we can just confirm a date- I'll show it to my dad to convince him to let me go and I'll be able to finally buy the tickets.

I sent him a letter back yesterday too, £1,20 to go three continents over was quite good to me although it felt like £1,200 to dad to which I just rolled my eyes to that. I wrote it in full Japanese including Kanji to impress him and I hope it's right.



The other day I told my Boyfriend about what I read- I must have looked like a mad woman to him being deeply upset and too scared to talk about it because when I eventually did he simply shrugged. This is someone who spoke about his fear of death a lot at the beginning of our relationship so I was very surprised to see that he wasn't fussed about what will happen in the future. He said it's simply impossible to fight against nature. Which is true, but I had a fear of the sun after watching Nicholas Cage's film Knowing and that was fictional. I've always been sensitive about destructions and disasters.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb