D12 + D13: Arran Island and transit to Weymouth


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
July 1st 2014
Published: July 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

June 30: Brodick, Arran Island

Back to the rural life I go - or at least more rural than Glasgow.

I took the early train down to Ardossan Harbour to catch the ferry to Brodick on Arran Island. I had a lovely moment at the train station when I found Morrocan green and white iced tea which I forgot existed and I forgot I absolutely love. Yum.

The ferry ride was relaxing - I had started outside but there were a lotttttt of little kids so I retreated to the indoors and their big comfy chairs.

In Brodick I had originally planned on walking the coastal path to Goatfell and climbing the large mountain... however... I'm still feeling the effects from the Storr so I decided more mountain climbing might not be wise. I did walk the coastal path though!

It was a nice enough walk - I got to see a lot of dogs! I even saw two Scotties which was just perfect. The path is shared with horses in some parts as well haha, so got to see some riders and their horsies.

The path also cuts through a golf course... twice. I remember the same in northern North Ireland, along with the sign saying not to disturb the golfers lol. The first time no one was around. The second time there were 4 men getting ready to tee-off. I stood to the side, ready to wait but they waved me forward.
Guy 1: "Go on ahead."
Guy 2: "Takes the pressure off me when I try and hit it if I know you aren't watching."
Guy 3: "You could stand right in front of him too, if you're daring."
Guy 2: "I'd get it over your head. If I managed to hit it."

Yep, so that was my stroll! I walked back to Brodick and debated taking a bus further south and back or heading back to Glasgow a little earlier than planned. I decided on Glasgow just because the bus service is pretty intermittent and I didn't want to risk missing the ferry I needed to catch.

I'm now eating a McFlurry and stealing wifis before heading off to the bus station... I apparently don't learn from my mistakes and have booked an overnight bus to London. Let's see how this goes...

--------------

July 1:

(Again, for I think it's the 3rd time in 4 years... I am in the UK for Canada Day haha. If I can't be in Canada, I suppose it's the next best place to be, even if the Trafalgar celebration was cancelled his year - harrumph.)

So, my bus from Glasgow to London was better than expected, although that's not saying much haha. It was already almost full upon arrival (it started in Dundee) so alas no window seat but I got the seat behind the stairs - no one can lean back into you and more legroom. Double score.

The driver was a joker, he was. He did the usual warning about sitting on the toilet even if you're a guy, but he added the flair of: "yes lads, you better sit because otherwise you'll hit your head. Yes. Your head. And then you'll come complain to me, and I'll just laugh at you." He went on to joke there's a red button that sprays random gunk, a yellow button that will eject you and that if you're not enjoying his announcement you clearly have no sense of humour and should be travelling National Distress (National Express, the main coach company) rather than MegaBus lol. And finally he noted that the coach was full, so perhaps someone will fall asleep on your shoulder, and if that's the case, well at least one of you will have a cozy sleep 😉 Alas, I didn't fall asleep on my neighbour's shoulder so I only got an hour and a half nap spanned over 10-15min intervals lol but hey, better than nothing.

Arriving in London was a thing of beauty - it feels like coming home. I really, truly do love it. I left my things in storage and headed off to Chelsea park, just south of the station. I got myself a cuppa, grabbed a paper and sat along the Thames just revelling in the fact I was back in London (even if only for a few hours haha). Life is good.

While reading the paper I discovered the Tour de Fance is passing thru on July 7. I miss it by one day and God am I happy about that... it's going to be a shit show traffic and commute-wise. Heading to Waterloo only confirmed how at home I feel here - I was muttering under my breath at tourists and how they stop in the worst places. One does not abruptly stop in the middle of Victoria station during rush hour. One does abruptly stop anywhere during rush hour, really.

Train to Weymouth was useful - I got a bit of sleep haha. I don't know why I can sleep so easily on trains but not busses or airlines, but hey. Arriving in Weymouth I had to wait to check-in so I went down to the beach and just read my book. It was bloody cold though - the wind at least. The water was great to watch - the waves were really lapping in. After I checked in, I came back to the beach so I could have a proper look around and really enjoy the wind and waves. It's supposed to be nice weather tomorrow, so it'll be interesting to see it actually busy and open since most of the huts and things were closed today.

Finally for supper I had the BEST fish n' chips ever... I decided that was my Canada Day celebration right there 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.577s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.2568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb