Day 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
September 28th 2012
Published: October 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

We started planning this adventure when we met about 38 years ago and whilst we have travelled to far flung places with and without out children we have never been away from home for so long. We can't return home because we have let our house out to part fund the trip, so no going back now. We have packed and I have just started this blog, thanks for sending this to me Neil. I will send the details to you all and if you want to follow please do.

I think what we are wondering is why? there are lots of reasons why folks want to travel, I had this silly notion that I could visit every country in the world before I die but what would that achieve? it would be a bit like collecting stamps, I suppose we will find out the answer on the way, I hope so.

We are going to visit Karen in Kingsclere where I reckon she will tell me I am taking too much luggage and what do I need high heels for? better leave them behind. Then we going to travel to Abingdon where Steve's Mum will make us a delicious lunch of shepherds pie just in case the food abroad is horrible, hope that pie will last us six months, and then Clive, Steve's brother is taking us to Rail-air at Reading; he is a little concerned his car won't make it to Heathrow.

We went out with Danny and Betsy, Naomi and Adam last night, a farewell supper, and they gave us a penknife for emergencies and photos of them all, as if we could ever forget them, presents are always so special especially when unexpected.

Can't check in on line as BA says we have too many flights and the system doesn't like it so maybe Steve will be at one end of the plane and me at the other, Great! at least I 'll get some sleep he snores something special.

I can't understand why I don't feel more excited just maybe I'm thinking about missing the grandchildren and children and family and friends and maybe a little anxious about being away for so long. Steve felt the same which was good. We remembered travelling to Australia and feeling so excited about going there and when we arrived we kept pinching ourselves, but this was different, I suppose we are going to countries outside of our comfort zone. In South America we plan to visit Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Peru and Ecuador, then NZ and we are looking forward to meeting up with friends there, then Australia, the Great Ocean road, it will be expensive so we hope we don't run out of money. Then Vietnam, Cambodia and India. Perhaps we are trying to do too much, we will be busy and perhaps wont achieve understanding the country. Steve worries that he will get ill and despite having all the jabs, (yellow fever, rabies, typhoid, tetanus) and taking Malarone with us I worry I will catch something from a mosquito. Well its too late now to go back, probably last minute nerves, concentrate on the positives and lets get going.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Lucy and HarryLucy and Harry
Lucy and Harry

Granddad's birthday celebration
Joey Joey
Joey

our 4th Grandchild
MikeyMikey
Mikey

he's not always this quiet
KenwoodKenwood
Kenwood

Bye bye Home


Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb