British boys and Lewes


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
January 13th 2007
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

at walkaboutat walkaboutat walkabout

three of us and some of our new british friends
Jan. 13:
Well we did go downtown on Friday with the British boys………it was a lot of fun. We went to a few pubs and met up with their flat mates. By the end of the night we went to an actual dance club…which I hadn’t been to yet in England. It’s a lot different than clubs in America but it was still a lot of fun. We also got to see more of the town—saw a few local hotspots……with the locals ha ha ha. Today (Saturday) Monica, Whitney, Alison, Jamie, Brian and I went to Lewes. It’s an old town that is just the next train stop over with a castle and an old church……. the castle was absolutely amazing. There was this little museum that we got to walk around in before we actually went up into the castle. Once through the gates you could just walk around the castle as you pleased. I mean there were some places that they wouldn’t let you go but it wasn’t like a guided tour or anything. From the top of the tower I could see the whole town and it was a really good view of the South Downs Hills……..which
in Lewesin Lewesin Lewes

on top on one of the castle towers with more of the castle in the background
is the area that Brighton and Lewes are part of. The neatest thing though was that we saw a group of kids that were probably about 6 years old having a birthday party IN the castle. The girls were dressed like princesses and the boys were dressed like knights. It was the coolest thing ever……..I remember when everyone wanted to have their party at the Chucky Cheese- in England you can get a whole castle! After the castle we walked around the streets of Lewes and stopped to look around in the old church. I’ve decided that I’m pretty much in love with old churches. They are just soooo beautiful. In our wanderings we also came across a local cheese shop as well as a chocolate shop. We bought some fancy cheeses and a few truffles to take home for dinner. When we got back home we cut up some apples and the fresh bread that we bought and had some wine along with the cheese and chocolate. It was a great dinner and very European of us if I do say so myself. I don’t think that I like wine though…….for those of us out there keeping tabs.
What I miss: McDonald’s breakfast
What I love: CASTLES!!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb