Halloween: Part Two


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Vale Of Glamorgan » Barry
November 2nd 2007
Published: November 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've done it...I've explored the third most haunted castle in the United Kingdom, at midnight, on Halloween (but not alone. Otherwise, I'd still be shivering). Even though it's two days later now, nothing that's happened in the past 48 hours even begins to equal this TRUE STORY of my St Donats experience with two other Americans on lock-up duty. Granted, I admit that watching all of Saw with my roommate and my two best friends immediately before may have colored my perception of these TRUE, shall I repeat completely TRUE events, but still...on lock-up duty of the castle (which we signed up for in advance, of course) we are required to close the doors in all the most notoriously haunted rooms of the castle - the Old Staff Common Room where a fire in the 1900s killed three people, the girls'bathroom where two students once drowned when it was locked and the 12-metre tides came in, the dining hall where more than one human sacrifice was performed by monks in the 17th century...and the upstairs history department, where we checked the library and turned off the lights at 12:07 (according to the Indiglo function on my watch). We yelled "Happy Halloween!" out over the library just for fun and started back down the stairs when, suddenly, we all stopped short at once. We had all heard the exact same thing - the unmistakeable sound of a woman singing. I yelped as Kevin almost crushed my hand in a clammy death grip. I started to handcrank my flashlight, seriously hoping that maybe it was some sort of night cleaning lady, or one of the other Americans trying to play with our minds. There was nothing, except the glow of a candle, which Ginny pointed out in front of the Economics room. Let's just say that the candle was not sitting on the floor. It was about two feet in the air. The humming started again, and we ran like Lady Anne was chasing us (who knows if she was?), and we sprinted Olympically back to our houses. I found my flashlight again yesterday, right where I dropped it on top of the stairs. It doesn't turn on any more. It's true, I swear on the flashlight.Can I just say again how much I LOVE THIS PLACE!?!?!?!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb