The First Time I've Ever Borrowed Jam From A Lama


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Vale Of Glamorgan » Barry
October 12th 2007
Published: October 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, my performance for the Dutch royal family yesterday was completely worth the effort, if only for the looks of shock and horror that crossed their faces as soon as I began to speak in my groggy, I-took-three-Strepacils-but-I-still-sound-like-a-12-year-old-boy voice. My equally nervous accompanist (who I had never actually practiced with before the performance) also gave me a five-minute long disclaimer, which was sort of daunting as I only ended up singing the one song anyway. The music department, thank goodness, had a Plan B,filling the 45 minutes with other (in my opinion, far more interesting and cultural) musical acts with me at the end singing Someone To Watch Over Me. Apparently I still impressed them, however, so I'm officially singing a full concert for the next royal and/or fundraising visit. I've also been chosen for Madrigals, a quartet chosen from Tour Choir; we'll be singing on the streets when we go on the Tour Choir trip to Poland. It doesn't just make an awesome title; I did actually borrow some jam from the table of the Lama who gave a lecture on Buddhism and inner peace last night. We have lectures once or twice a week, not necessarily based on the 'theme' of the week; this week's theme is the Middle East, so the Friday Lecture tonight is on Islam. Which is, of course, followed by a belly-dancing workshop, where I intend to flaunt my CAVRA-sculpted stomach. CAVRA has another 6-hour hike this Saturday, in the supposedly stunning Brecon Beacons. Come to think of it, I probably just should say that the Brecon Beacons is notably ugly, because we aren't allowed cameras on CAVRA hikes and if I say it's beautiful then you WILL expect pictures. Don't worry...they're coming soon...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb