Day 1: Hellacious Flights


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Swansea
March 12th 2011
Published: March 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I could barely contain my excitement this morning as I finish packing and getting ready. Last minute of course. We arrived at the airport at 9:45am to check in our luggage and go through security. I am always that person that gets stopped when going through security. It doesn't matter how much I prepare myself so that I don't get stopped, I still get stopped. Going through security they swab the handle of my carry on, I'm assuming to see if there is any bomb residue because I look like that kind of person. We boarded our first plane that would take us from OKC to Washington DC. Hello amateur pilot! This was probably my roughest flight as we were preparing to land in Washington DC we suddenly dropped God knows how many feet, which left everyone's stomach somewhere in mid air. Not to mention we were on a little CRJ-700, I'm terrified of small planes. After a very rough landing we make our way to our next gate, losing some students at various airport restaurants. As we board our next plane I was surprised at how spacious it was compared to the little 700. I had never been on such a big plane, let alone a plane that had tv's in every seat. Before we took off the guy next to me switch with a girl from India. She seemed nice and said she would sleep the whole way there, so I thought to myself "awesome I won't have to talk to anyone on the way there." About 3 hours into our 6 hour flight we hit turbulence over the Atlantic. Okay I've seen every movie that involves a plane crashing so I was already terrified. The girl next to me jumps up in her seat and starts telling me we are all going to die. "If we weren't going to die the pilot wouldn't of made the flight attendants sit down and buckle up." Need less to say my anxiety level at this point was through the roof. She finally calmed down enough to attempt to sleep and I put in my headphones and proceeded to watch Tangled to calm myself. Before I knew it the flight attendants were serving breakfast and we were an hour away from London's airport. We landed in London around 6am, collected our luggage, and went to find our bus. Our bus driver was something else, 30 minutes into our drive to Wales he stops to get himself some breakfast. We all got off the bus and ventured through the rest stop. We got back on and 3 hours later we arrived at our hotel in Swansea Wales. A few went to explore the town, but as for me I chose to sleep the day away after the drama I had on the flight. We woke up and had dinner at the hotel. My options were lamb, chicken, or roast beef. You can never go wrong with chicken, it wasn't half bad. Tomorrow we get to be real tourists and see what Wales has to offer.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.126s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb