More Beautiful Welsh Ruins


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Monmouthshire » Tintern
August 26th 2007
Published: October 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Chepstow to Tintern


After Chepstow, we turned inland to visit the famous Tintern Abbey. When I heard the name, it sounded familiar, but I didn't realize why... until I found out that it features in a poem by Wordsworth, which I was forced to read junior year of high school. Though I'm not one to spout poetry, it truly was a beautiful sight, especially on such a bright and sunny day.

But first, the car boot sale in the shadow of the abbey. Ahhh. That vaulted and established British tradition. Take one car, stuff it with junk, drive to the nearest racecourse or other suitable field, set up a table, and proffer your wares. I turned up a couple books, a CD by Sarah Vaughan, and many, many cheap DVDs. It was like being in Russia again, but these weren't pirated. They just cost about a dollar each. I somehow wasn't snared by all the other junk... though it was fun to look.

That essential British experience out of the way, we went in the abbey. Again, the place was crumbling, but it was still so very majestic. You have to forgive it for crumbling, though - it was founded in 1131, after all. The surrounding hills, the blue of the sky and the green of the grass amongst the ruins, even in the nave of the church part itself, made for lovely pictures, although the part of the abbey that is supposedly the most picturesque was covered in scaffolding when we were there. Walking through the nave was so utterly peaceful. Until my cell phone rang. 😊 But since it was my fiance calling from a hot and dusty place on another continent, I took the call and was delighted.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Tintern Abbey 13Tintern Abbey 13
Tintern Abbey 13

Drainage Trough
I told you Welsh looks funny!I told you Welsh looks funny!
I told you Welsh looks funny!

Sorry it's out of focus...


10th October 2007

abracadabra
Yeah, yeah, abbys and castles, but did you get to the wool outlet?
11th October 2007

!
There's a wool outlet?!!!

Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb