Arrival and Train to Wales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Conwy » Llandudno
July 5th 2013
Published: July 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Outside Warwick CastleOutside Warwick CastleOutside Warwick Castle

They set up tents to make the place feel Medieval.
I really can't figure out how long I've been awake. The confusion is over the fact that when I got to London at 8 it was 12 AM back in Denver - so really another day was starting right when another was ending. But I made the most of it, breezed through Heathrow, got down to Paddington Station in London, and then set off for the countryside of Warwickshire. I oddly enough stopped right at Oxford - where I should be back to in a couple of months. Ultimately, I went to Warwick Castle, probably the best castle in all of England.

It really is a giant place, and I think is the prettiest castle I've ever been in. Everything is incredibly sumptuous and over the top. I didn't last as long as I wanted to at Warwick, though, because of the heat and my subsequent really intense bout of fatigue. So I headed back to the train station. I remember getting on, with the train stopping right where I needed it to in Birmingham. Then I just fell asleep and woke up with the train stopped, the doors open, and no one in sight. So I just grabbed my bags, and walked off in Birmingham for another station a couple of blocks away.

At this station, which I got lost finding, I hung out until around 5ish, getting a warm Mexican beer at an burrito store owned by an Indian man. Definitely in England! Then I finally got on the 3 hour train to Wales and it was brutally hot. I nodded off many times, but I was scared to really go to sleep because I might not have woken up until the morning. But Northern Wales really is beautiful, especially the area where I'm at, around the Irish Sea and tons of ruined castles from the time of Edward I.

As the topping to the day, I missed the final ten minute train to Llandudno, and had to wait for the bus. I then got lost in Llandudno, finally finding the guesthouse around 9 my time. It's an awesome old Victorian type of house with really narrow stairs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Inside Warwick CourtyardInside Warwick Courtyard
Inside Warwick Courtyard

The big hill is the oldest part of the castle - dating from something like 1068.
Great Hall of WarwickGreat Hall of Warwick
Great Hall of Warwick

This is where big feasts were held.
One of the Drawing RoomsOne of the Drawing Rooms
One of the Drawing Rooms

This one is the Cedar Room, and was my favorite.
The Green Drawing RoomThe Green Drawing Room
The Green Drawing Room

Had a great coffered ceiling.
Queen Anne RoomQueen Anne Room
Queen Anne Room

Designed for Queen Anne but she never showed up. Tall bed though.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb