D30: St Fagan's Welsh Life Museum


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
July 18th 2014
Published: July 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

(Day 30 already? I can't believe it.)

I had a lovely relaxing day today… other than trying to deal with my hostel re: laundry but let’s not focus on that right now.

I’ve been to Cardiff quite a few times now - the first time I was here I had visited the Welsh Life Museum which is almost like an “Upper Canada Village” sort of museum - it’s basically a bunch of buildings that have been moved from their original locations and rebuilt and replicated to the t here at the museum. It was this museum that cemented in my mind that the Welsh and Canadians are pretty much the exact same people haha. So all that to say, I decided to head out to enjoy the beautiful weather and wander around the grounds. (Bonus, it’s a free museum)

I had planned to do laundry in the morning before heading out (guy told me yesterday I could do it today). When I enquired this morning another guy told me nope, not in the morning because the hostel needs to do all the sheets and stuff. Fine, makes sense.

I headed off to St. Fagan’s and just had to grin. First off, the bus driver was super friendly and started chatting with me about my travels (it was just me and a local on the bus). Once we got to the museum he gave me a timetable to make sure I knew what time the bus came and all that. Aw. Secondly, it just felt nice to be back somewhere I enjoy.

I started off down near the farm (that’s still operational I believe) and saw a whole lot of chickens who were very vocal this morning. So much bawking. The pigs were a lot quieter… as in they were pretty much all asleep haha. It was just neat to walk around though and see a bunch of the old machinery and go inside the houses and such… it’s like a little flashback into my grandparents’ lives… a lot of the things in the different houses and buildings are things I remember seeing in Hawkesbury, (or are still there…) or at least I’m sure would have been there “back in the day”. I just find it fascinating how some things are still universal despite the distances involved.

I spent a few hours just going from building to building - it was fun seeing which ones I remembered and which ones I didn’t. I was a little bummed that I didn’t have any quality convos with any of the house attendants - last time I was here there were two houses in particular where the person watching the house was super talkative and we got into great talks about the history involved, about the weather (go figure) and about Canada/Wales. This time most of the attendants were young… like in their 20s. I don’t know, I’m sure they knew their stuff but it just doesn’t have the same feel haha. Like in one of the houses they had the fireplace going and I commented on the smell (nothing beats it) and she just kind of nodded. Right, ok, no conversation then haha.

I did have one amazing conversation though - and as per usual it came out of nothing and it was with a man in like… his 60s haha. About an hour into my visit, I crossed paths with someone who worked there (can tell by their vests). I did the usual acknowledgement nod and smile and he just kind of stopped. It was one of those conversations where because I was in Wales it was great but pretty much anywhere else in the world I would have been creeped out lol.

“Excuse me, but can I just tell you, you have a beautiful smile.”
This only made me continue to smile and laugh as I said thank you. He went to shake my hand and welcomed me to St. Fagan’s; I thanked him again and noted it’s my second time visiting - loved it so much last time I had to come back. Oh this made him happy.
“Did I meet you last time?”
Uh, quite possibly? But it was 3 years ago.
“You just have an amazing smile.” He went to shake my hand again haha. Again I laughed.
We then talked about how I was Canadian (he guessed right) and how he much prefers us to our neighbours. I was like come on, to be fair they aren’t all bad. “No, but Canadians are lovely. You’re always so polite and friendly when you visit. I’m going to be cheeky, are all Canadians as beautiful as you?”
(Oh my God ahahahahahahaha. Why. Whyyyyy.) I just laughed again and said ‘we try’.
“Well my dear you succeeded.” (So cheesy lol)
We randomly talked about some of the buildings after that and about my plans after Cardiff.
“Well, I hope I get to see you again on another visit. Honestly, you just brightened up my day. Thank you.” Aw, old man be cute. He asked for a hug so we ended on that note and went our separate ways.

Oh. He also sassed me about Justin Bieber, I mean really, how perfect is that hahaha. Aw, he was just such a little old sweetheart though - I love when the old men who talk to me are actually nice and not perverted creeps.

Anyway! After I finished walking through the main part of the museum I headed off to the eastern bit where I spent the rest of the afternoon sitting in the gardens by the castle (it’s not much of a castle, but it’s cute) and continuing to read my book. It’s a grand way to spend a couple hours. I was interrupted at one point by a guy cutting grass (what are the chances haha) but when he realized I was sitting there he gave me a wide-berth which was nice. It was, otherwise, a very peaceful afternoon.

Back at the hostel I was all ready to do my laundry and this other, other guy told me no way. And he wasn’t polite at all about it. When I noted that two other staff had told me I could, he again not so politely told me too bad because they’ve been busy and need to do sheets. First off, it’s not even high season yet - you’re not at capacity and staff shouldn’t offer laundry services if you’re unable to offer them. Secondly, there’s a way to tell me - almost rolling your eyes and being condescending as eff is not the way to do it. Thirdly, you should offer an alternative (like there’s a laundrette down the road!) But fine, I shut down and said fine, bye. I went upstairs and did some laundry in the sink (I have Tide packs) - wasn’t overly happy about it, but it’ll do. But here’s thing - I travel a lot and keep coming back to my favourite places. I would pretty much guarantee I will be back in Cardiff within a couple years… and I may be loyal to hostels I like, but it really only takes one shitty staff member for me to wave goodbye. So goodbyeeeeee.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb