Thank God Cardiff won the football against Swansea!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Panorama - Kids in the mall having fun. They must have a time limit before they run out of air.

Day 17-19 This city of Wales seems a little rough around the edges at first but once I was settled in to the hostel and had a look around, I found more to explore. Cardiff Castle stood, looming and ominous but I didn't take the bait and go in. I want to be more picky about my castles and I thought Nottingham Castle would be more fitting for a Frettingham. So, it's cold, it's windy, it's rainy. What more could I ask for? I walked around town and familiarised myself with the layout. Did you know they speak a funny language there? Sounds of sweet melody and hawkin' for a loogie.

Anyway things were quiet this first day...the calm before the storm. Everyone I asked about what to do in Cardiff warned me to stay away from the football. Cardiff playing Swansea, long term rivals. On the Saturday, I watched the game from the comfort and warmth of the sister Hostel, NosDa, sipping a hot chocolate and chatting with the others. I suppose if Cardiff lost there would have been riots in the streets. There usually is. Extra police and security in all the key spots. Rubbish bins removed from the train station for when the Swansea supporters train it home. You know, the usual stuff during the football. As it was, revellers were singing up and down the streets and all were pretty happy about things.

During the day on Saturday I had found a map with a long walk marked on it to take me right round the bay in a loop. Perfect! I take my snacks and stuff for the day, especially wet weather stuff, and head off through the city and out around the bay. The walk went really well except for the drenching I got in the morning. Darn...forgot the overpants, my jeans below the knee got soaked but my Keen walking shoes stayed dry (free advertising). And that a bridge noted on the map is not to be completed until Summer 2010. A 2 mile detour later and I find I have to cross a bridge illegally anyway. There was no other way. I stop for lunch right out on the water at the Customs House where I could look out to England. The people around me all said that I shouldn't go back in the England and that I should explore Wales further. Not much rivalry between the two is there? Maybe next time.

It was a long walk but well worth it. I slept like a log that night. Even through the apparent bonking going on in the next room and all the kerfuffle that it caused. Damn, missed out on the fun!



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

What's he looking at?What's he looking at?
What's he looking at?

If he wasn't standing in 6 inches of water I would have had a look too.
This is a meat pie?This is a meat pie?
This is a meat pie?

Stew with a puff pastry lid.
Hello TaffyHello Taffy
Hello Taffy

The River Taff runs through Cardiff


6th April 2010

I enjoyed your Cardiff post. My blog is looking for travel photos. If you have the time, check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric
6th April 2010

Cardiff blog
Thanks Eric. I'll check out your site.
8th April 2010

Thanks Gerri
I'm glad you're enjoying the journals. Hope you're still beating them all on the golf course. xx

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb