Soggy Cardiff


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I'm now in Wales. Since I wrote yesterday, I went for dinner with my new friend Stacey and her friend James. He came all the way from London to Chester to see her, and I joined them for dinner! :S I think that she was glad though that I was there, because I don't think she realized that he likes her until last night. After dinner we went to the partially uncovered amphitheatre and Stacey and I did some singing a la karaoke. I had my iPod to help me with the words. Then the three of us sang our national anthems. I think that the couple sitting on the bench above the amphitheatre were slightly amused.....

I went to Chester Cathedral this morning once I realized that having skipped it yesterday, I was missing out on seeing a cobweb painting. (The cobweb is the canvas.) I did the audio tour of the cathedral and saw the painting. Nothing all that spectacular, but the cathedral building was pretty neat. Hopefully some of my photos will be okay!

I made it to the train station with about 15 minutes to spare. Boarded the train and had a rather uneventful ride. We had to switch trains at one point (unexpectedly) but that was also fine. I started working on putting some of my little slips and ticket stubs into my travel "bible" while on the train. (If you've never seen one of my anal planning books, ask me sometime to show you. It's pretty anal!!!)

Got to Cardiff and checked into my room. The hostel is quite nice! The kitchen is gorgeous, the bathroom fixtures all look brand new, and I'm on the top bunk of an Ikea bunkbed. I have of late preferred to sleep on the bottom bunk so that I can shove all my stuff under the bed, but I got a top bunk this time. Oh well!

I decided to take a bit of a walk around Cardiff Castle and hit the grocery store tonight. Unfortunately, I didn't remember my umbrella. So of course it rained!!! I was doing pretty well at not getting too wet, until this stupid car came along and SPRAYED me with water from a big puddle on the street, drenching my whole right side. Fortunately I carry my camera on my left! I even had water splashed into my ear! Yuck. I guess I should just be glad that it was only water and not mud or something else horrible!

Tomorrow I'm going to go to Cardiff Bay to see the Dr. Who exhibit and Torchwood shooting locations. I also heard from my TPMG friend Sara (yay!!!) and I'm going to meet her at 2pm at the Torchwood entrance. (It's a big silver shiny fountain thing.) Gotta love having a cell phone and being able to text message while traveling!!!

More details to come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb