Cardiff and Dr. Who


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
October 23rd 2013
Published: April 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

My daughter is a huge fan of Dr. Who. My wife likes it too. While I am not as big of a fan, I have grown to like it. Our main reason to go to Cardiff was for the Dr. Who Experience. This was our gift to our daughter for her 13th birthday, which was last week.

We arrived into Cardiff Central station at about 10:30 am and walked to our hotel, about 10 minutes away. It was sunny, but colder than London was due to the wind. The Novotel staff told us it was too early for us to check in, so we stored our bags and went to get a bus to the Dr. Who Experience. It was a quick ride, and once there, we explored the place for 2-3 hours. Our daughter loved every second of it!

After Dr. Who, we walked around the harbor area and searched for some lunch. We decided to eat at Bosphorus Restaurant. I guess that restaurant was in a Dr. Who episode so our daughter wanted to eat there. I was craving something different but am glad we ate there because it was really good. I had the chicken kebabs and some falafel, with an Efes beer to drink. The staff here were wonderful too! The restaurant is on a pier over the water which is nice also. After a very filling lunch, we walked around the harbor some more and also went inside the Millennium Center. In the early evening we rode the bus back to our hotel. We still had no idea which way we would go home the next day so I started looking. My daughter and I also took a quick dip in the indoor pool.

We ate in at the hotel and it was actually very good! I had a chicken sandwich with chips. I finally decided that since London to USA flights were mostly overbooked, it would be a safer bet to buy a discount ticket on KLM to Amsterdam and then take Delta to Boston. I purchased our KLM tickets online and then we went to sleep. The flight was at 6:05am so we would wake up at 3am and get a taxi to Cardiff Airport.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb