The Long Drive from Inverness


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
September 2nd 2002
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


A couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to have Securicor send me to conduct some training courses in Scotland and Northern England. It was fantastic b/c I started in Inverness and worked my way down the country. Had to rush it and didn't get to see heaps, but managed to take in Loch Ness (probably the only person there in a suit) and drove through the Great Glen in the Scottish Highlands. had a fleeting visit to Stirling and waved a William Wallace whilst driving to Manchester (the Loch Ness detour mean the 7 hour drive turned into 9.5 hours). After Manchester I drove to Yorkshire and managed to see Richmond castle and even made it to the tiny villliage of Middleham, where I visited Middleham Castle which was the childhood home of Richard III.....after negotiating country lanes I made it back onto a Motorway and experienced my first Gridlock.......yep about 200miles North of London I was stuck in a traffic jam which lasted about an hour. Heading bakc to London on the Friday afternoon I diverted off the M1 to the tiny villiage of Sutton Cheney which is arrived at by a going down a series of tiny lanes. The only thing Sutton Cheney is famous for is it is used as the reference point for Bosworth Field......this was the location where Henry VII defeated Richard III in was was the final battle in the War of the Roses.....figured I was on a Richard III history day so it was worth visiting.

Anyway looking ahead I have about 4 days left of work (officially) and then Shannon arrives and we are heading to Oktoberfest first, before heading to Greece and Turkey. After that not really sure what happens, but the Work Permit means that I can stay longer in the UK.

So my next instalment will probably be from a beach somewhere in the Aegean, or a Beer tent in Munich 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb