Highland Day Trip


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
October 1st 2007
Published: October 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

All right. Well. This entry's going to be short, and not very interesting because on this bus trip from Stirling I pretty much had no idea where we were for the entire day. Our guide was the nice guy who runs the Univorn travel agency on campus, but his accent and voice are such that I tended to tune out everything he said. I took many pictures, though, which I shall upload and try to caption appropriately, but who knows how accurate my memory will be?

We started off at Doune Castle, I remember that much. That was one of the places they filmed Monty Python and the Holy Grail at, incidentely. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to go in, but I took many pictures of the outside!

After that my mind is kind of a blank, because we were mostly driving along beautiful Highland scenery (Loch Ludnaig). We eventually got to the small town of Killin, where we ate lunch (sausage rolls from the Wee Bake Shop, which were WONDERFUL) and checked out the falls running right through the center of town! Then came more scenery, and we stopped in Kenmore for a view of the Loch (Loch Tay? can't remember). We also saw a lot of boats there. There was a beautiful castle a few miles away, but again, we didn't have time to go, so I had to content myself with seeing it through the bus window as we drove by.

The stop that sticks in my mind the most, though, is the Famous Grouse Experience at the Glenturret Whisky Distillery. We had a nice tour, with a guide whom I at first thought was the worst tour guide in the history of tour guides, but later came to realize just had a very dry sense of humor. So then I liked him. Learned how whisky is made, the difference between single malt and blended whiskies, and tried some aroma identification, at which I stunk (pun intended). Honestly, the most interesting part (aside from the free drink!) was the brief aside about the famous distillery cat, Towser, who is in the Guinness book of World Records for catching the most mice ever! They estimated she caught something like 26,000 mice in her lifetime. So there's a statue of her at the distillery, which I took pictures of, naturally.

And then it was back to
Doune CastleDoune CastleDoune Castle

And Yours Truly.
Stirling!



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Behind Doune CastleBehind Doune Castle
Behind Doune Castle

A view from the grounds...
Loch LudnaigLoch Ludnaig
Loch Ludnaig

Misty mountains...
Little ChurchLittle Church
Little Church

The church where Rob Roy is buried, but I can't for the life of me remember the name of the village it's in...Dunquahain? Starts with a D and has a Q in it...
RuinsRuins
Ruins

At the little church.
Kenmore ViewKenmore View
Kenmore View

An "art shot"
CarsCars
Cars

In Kenmore.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb