Bike Ride Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
April 25th 2023
Published: April 25th 2023
Edit Blog Post

A very sad day.
3 days before what we had planned, and after a splendid day yesterday, I have decided not to continue the bike tour.
What happened?
After Yesterday’s evening dinner I got acid reflux with this burning pain just above the stomach. Since I could not find my anti acids directly I lay down and probably because of the place of the burning, I felt my pulse and to my astonishment I felt a strong arrhythmia that persisted even after I took an anti acid and the burning had disappeared.
It lasted all night and in the morning I consulted Jan Willem who is a cardiologist. (How lucky can you get….) He listened to my story and checked my pulse confirming what I already thought: heart arrhythmia. Something I have never had before, at least not to this extent.
He, nor I could explain what had caused it. He gave me some recommendations with regards to some medicines that I am already taken and discussed with me if it would be wise for me to continue the bike right. Although he explained that the arrhythmia could disappear as it had come, we agreed that continuing probably would not be the best idea.
Between all of us a plan was made on how to go forward. In short, I would take a taxi to Inverness and take my bike with me to leave at the hotel where they will stay the night upon finishing the trip (Thursday) Subsequently they will take my bike back on the train and the ferry. A tremendous gesture and effort on their part.
I would try to take a plane to The Netherlands and rearrange my flight back to the US.
In the mean time I have arrived in The Hague where our son Christian lives.
As “predicted” by Jan Willem the cardiologist, the arrhythmia has virtually disappeared and I feel fine, although tired from my today’s trip.
I owe a great thanks and appreciation to my travel companions, not just for their help of today. They have been an immense support in many ways since the beginning of our trip. They are the reason that the Scotland bike trip, not withstanding today, has been a beautiful adventure for me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb