Kelly's Day Trip to Stirling


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Stirlingshire » Stirling
September 27th 2008
Published: October 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On a random friday Andrew called me up and asked me to meet all the guys in Stirling the next day. Andrew promised me that there would be great sites and an amazing castle.....so obviously I went. It was really fun to see the guys again after sooo long and I got to meet Damon's friends from SB: Dan, Alex and Courtney. We first went to the William Wallace monument. There is quite a hike up to the monument and quite a hike to reach the top of the monument. The monument was basically a tower with rooms that explained what he did etc. One of my favorite parts was seeing his massive sword (however I found out later that it wasn't even the real thing). The best part, by far, was the top of the tower, which overlooked all the surrounding areas. We had a fun time playing around at the top for awhile. On the way down I almost died when Andrew gave me a piggy-back and Damon almost killed his camera doing some "sweet jumps". hahah.

After the monument we headed on the tour bus towards the castle. We were all extremely hungry for lunch but decided to press on anyway (probably a dumb idea in my case but mom I want you to know that I held it together). The castle sat ontop of a hill overlooking the city and had quite pretty views. We decided to do the free tour where a crazy man told us every detail about the castle. Unfortunately, the best parts of the castle are underconstruction. In the future, they plan to have people dressed up-trying to simulate what it would be like to live there in the past (very cool).

After our tour we went down and had some dinner at a sportsbar that was pretty miserable. However, it was fun anyway. At the end of the day I got on the train towards St. Andrews and the boys got on a train to glasgow.

-Kelly


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb