Another 5 munros off the to do list! Glen Lyon & Schehallion


Advertisement
Published: July 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

That's another 5 munros off the to do list! Still have not used the tent though :-( But it was another great weekend away and the sun did come out both days, so did the rain, the wind and the crowds...but you can't have it all!!!





Saturday 14 July 2012

Carn Gorm, Meall Garbh, Carn Mairg and Meall nan Aighean (from Invervar near Glen Lyon)



I met another fellow car sleeper at Invervar car park. At last I don’t feel as weird anymore, there are others like me our there :-)



Glad to report I did not get lost on the way up this time….however managed to do so on the way down thus adding another 1.5hrs to the day and 1 mile hike on the road back to the car in Invervar. I guess it would not have been the same without the drama and excitement! At this rate my friends at work will never agree to do the West Highland Way with me….



The descent included going through 2 fields with farmers livestock…the sheep and especially the cows, were not too pleased with me
carn gormcarn gormcarn gorm

no 1 of day
I have to say, by the loud noises they were making once I entered their fields. I had to climb over 2 fences (not the most ladylike sight), wade through a couple of mini rivers (almost dislocating my left arm on the last one), sliding down a mini forest and finally going under one fence to make it on to the main road. So much for finding a defined path on the way down as the book said! No permanent injury was sustained despite my efforts mentioned above.



I have to admit the above was not the only adventure bit for the day. Coming down from the 3 mountain the book said rock screed however the reality was far more challenging…having to scramble on all fours and desperately trying not to start an avalanche of rocks…while all the while I was cursing myself for not bringing my Swiss knife just in case I experienced a situation like “127 hours”! To my (and my family’s) relief I made it down safely only to realise that if I had only retraced my steps for 200 metres I would have found an easier route down. Just proves that in hindsight
meall garbhmeall garbhmeall garbh

no 2 of the day
you can always find an easier way…just like with life! But as per my life to date where would be the fun in that, instead what doesn’t kill you just makes you stronger!!!



The weather was dry to start with, then as the farmer with his 5 collies told me it was like that on Friday but then it rained at 11am and the sun came out at 3pm. It was like having my own met office only more accurate…Saturday’s weather was just like Friday’s. Despite the great weather during the later part of the day I decided to give the tent another weekend in it’s packaging, since I was too tired to pitch it…I will have to organise a proper camping trip soon.



Sunday 15 July 2012

Schiehallion (Braes of Foss)



I arrived at the car park at 9:30pm the previous night. Even though the signs in the car park clearly stated “no overnight parking” I decided to give my rebellious side a wee thrill. Before drifting off to sleep the sky was overcast but a glimmer of stars were shinning through giving rise to a hope on my
views from carn mairgviews from carn mairgviews from carn mairg

no 3 of the day
part of blue skies in the morning. Well at 7:30am it was raining cats and dogs so I did what any sensible person would, went back to sleep. Then at 9:30am I awoke by the noise of 5 walkers passing by my car. So I quickly got dressed, had breakfast (I am loving the choc chip muffins for breakfast!) and was on my merry way.



It was a dry start with blue skies and lots of grey ones on the way! A third of the way up I am pleased to say I overtook the group of 5 men, who had a 30min head start from me…so I was buzzing with the excitement of being the first one to reach the top for the day….and to think I am the least competitive person I know, but it is not everyday I can overtake guys walking, with my short legs!!!



All the excitement was short lived when the heavens just opened and the wind picked up and the visibility started getting worse. But then again, my determination took over and I managed to dodge and scramble over the millions of rocks (I am not exaggerating)
mist on the hillsmist on the hillsmist on the hills

feels like waking on clouds!
that lay between me and the true top….yes there were 4 tops before the true one….so every now and then you got a sense of maybe this is the one…only to realise it was still up ahead. Luckily I reached the top only 20mins after the recommended time of 2hrs 15mins and I was the first for the day. Literally 5mins after me, 2 more guys arrived. I then started my way down since it was too windy to stay at the top.



On the way down I came across aprox another 40+ people it was like being in a Glasgow Asda store (don’t get me wrong I love Glaswegians!) the ladies kept asking how much further it was, you could see they had, had enough and they were still 30mins from the top….Now considering the amount of crowds on the hill there was no way to have a comfort break, so I decided to follow in my uncle Derek’s footsteps and run down the hill (once I had come off the rocky part that is…I am not that crazy…at least not yet). I now know what a thrill these hill runners get….the buzz of speed coupled
a break in the skya break in the skya break in the sky

the sun was desparate to make an appearance!...but not yet!
by the horrified looks of the other walkers….thinking what an absolute loony!....PRICELESS. Well I managed to get off the hill without any injuries and an empty bladder…so success all round!



By all accounts it has been another FANTASTIC weekend away and another 5 munros off my to do list. Only 1 more required to reach my 2012 target of 10 and that will be Ben Nevis on the 1st Sept! But we have a while to go before the 1st Sept, so maybe I will be able to fit in a few more before then…something for me to mull over the next week or so.



Thanks for reading!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

does this look like rock screed?does this look like rock screed?
does this look like rock screed?

more like rock climbing to me...heading down from Carn Mairg (no 3)! My "127 hours" horror!
if only i had seen the easier way down!if only i had seen the easier way down!
if only i had seen the easier way down!

200 metres to my left it was the easy route....a hindsight is a great thing!
only one more to go....only one more to go....
only one more to go....

views of Meall nan Aighean (no 4 of the day)!
at last a defined path!at last a defined path!
at last a defined path!

on the way to the final top
views of Carn Mairg (no 3)views of Carn Mairg (no 3)
views of Carn Mairg (no 3)

from the 4th hill top, this shows how much rocks there were on the way down!
views of the first 2 hillsviews of the first 2 hills
views of the first 2 hills

on the far left is Carn Gorm and then Meall Garbh and the start of the third Carn Mairg....now that the rain has stopped and the visibility has improved....only way now is down!
last cairn on the southwest part of Meall nan Aigheanlast cairn on the southwest part of Meall nan Aighean
last cairn on the southwest part of Meall nan Aighean

the guide book said, head towards that cairn and just head down....GREAT ADVISE!
only snag was there was no defined pathonly snag was there was no defined path
only snag was there was no defined path

all the rain we have been having has turned anything remotely resembling a path into a river, so i ventured via heather and grass and then via livestock fields to make my way to the main road....ah the joys of an adventurer!!!
transport & sleeping accommodation with Schehallion in the backgroundtransport & sleeping accommodation with Schehallion in the background
transport & sleeping accommodation with Schehallion in the background

it doesn't get much better than this....well maybe if the tent was pitched! It was 9:30pm at this point...pretty cool!
now this is what i call a well defined pathnow this is what i call a well defined path
now this is what i call a well defined path

and not what I encountered yesterday coming off hill no 4!
rocks more rocksrocks more rocks
rocks more rocks

what you can do without! The first of the false tops entiching up ahead...


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb