Day 6: Pitlochry to Callander


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Perthshire » Callander
September 6th 2017
Published: September 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Day 6 Catch Up to Callander

I arose this morning to have my £2 international hostel breakfast with people from Germany, Sweden, Spain, France, China, USA, Scotland, and England. A good simple breakfast of coffee, juice , cereal, scones, toast, oatmeal, and fruit.

Today was to be my test day for my saddle sore remedy. Hopefully, caught early enough to resolve.

The ride started overcast, with some brighter spots, and was initially the usual climb and decent. There seemed to be lots of manor houses along the way, with many of those who were not in manors living in what were once the gatehouses to the manors. They must still have gamekeepers for some manors also, as I cycled through a few flocks of pheasants. One group along the road, had to be a hundred or more. They don't startle until you are beside them, and then you have to watch your head for bird bodies and wings. I stopped for a quick break around Aberfeldy at a wool/sewing/souvenir/cafe place.

Moving on I rode high along Loch Tay, with predictable drops to villages, and the grind of the climb up again. The view across the loch and into the hills (mountains?) was amazing.

Prior to one climb, I came across 6 errant sheep. Two sheep headed into the fields, and the other four just kept running ahead of me, speeding up if I tried to pass. After some time, they veered off into a farm driveway. I finally made Killin and had lunch and ale at an inn across from the Falls of Dochart.

Moving on, again, I had a hard slog snaking up a loose gravel forest trail that changed to a good long climb at Glen Ogle. This became an amazing and long downhill run, although it was a little unnerving due to passing vehicles.

The final 10k into Callander was bliss, as it was an old recently paved rail line and it made the end of a long, and occasionally wet day, a pleasure.

And it was hostel number 3 for the night, as the rain had started earlier and was showing no signs of letting up.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb