Goodbye Bonny Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
September 17th 2006
Published: September 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sorry guys re the lack of photos! Having great trouble downloading them so you will have to wait til I get to London and I will download a heap at once.

I was meant to be in a all female four bed dorm at the hostel but they put me in with a Bulgarian doctor and an italian couple. It was ok though. I think the doctor felt very strange about sharing a room with a single lady. If I was going to sleep he left the room for about half an hour! We had a leak in our room so were moved to an 8 bed dorm all to ourselves which was kind of cool. I felt sorry for the people in my room as this was when I reached my peak of sickness and was coughing all one night and sniffling all the next!

I had woken up a bit crook still so wandered down to the Grassmarket for breakfast. The grassmarket is a famed strip of pubs in Edinburgh and I found a cafe to have an all day English breakfast. I wanted to find an internet cafe but could not find one open, walked around for a good hour before finding one, then wasted another hour trying to download my photos! It was probably about 2.00 in the arvie by this stage so went and booked a tour to Loch Ness for the following day and then made my way up The Royal Mile to Edinurgh Castle.

NOw when I travelled to Scotland years ago a friend I was travelling with told me that the castle was not really worth it. Well I disagree! It was fantastic. I took a guided tour around the castle and then spent the next few hours going to the various parts of the castle that you could view. The history in these places never ceases to amaze me, you can imagine it in all its glory in the olden times.

I grabbed a coffee and began my walk to the hostel. As I walk across the meadows, the sun is casting its golden light and the fields are full of people enjoying the last light of the day. I too sit for a while and bask in it before heading for home.

FINAL DAY

I awake early for my tour and hear the rain on the roof. I get a cab over to the meeting point and we board the bus about 8.30 to head into the highlands and visit Loch Ness. I really enjoy the driving time as there is so much to see. We stop at various points along the way, I have done a similar tour to this before so there is not much new to me but it is interesting all the same. When we get to the Loch, you can do a cruise down it on I hop. It really is magnificent, a lot huger than you could possibly imagine. One of the guides is downstairs, as I go down I can hear him assuring people that there are indeed monsters. They have a sonar device which he say has measure 17 different types of animals! Back on deck I enjoy the scenery while beginning to get a little annoyed with some fellow passengers. They spend all their time snapping photos without really even enjoying where they are!

We spend an hour on the water before heading back to Edinburgh. It is a long day driving but my bus to London does not leave until 10.00pm so I am happy to be secure and doing something rather than pointlessly wandering around. We get back into Edinburgh at about 8.30 and I head over to the bus terminal for my all night trip! When I get to London, I will make my way to the Eurostar to go to Paris and I can't wait!

Advertisement



21st September 2006

Where in the world...
Where are more blogs? Heard that Thailand isn't as bad as they first thought.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb