Day 14 - Kielder - Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
May 27th 2014
Published: May 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

On the road by about 9.30am hardly been going for 30 minutes and then suddenly the Scotland/England border appears - even though I knew it was hereabouts, it still came upon me as a surprise and I was ecstatic. It is just amazing how when you link up all the points how far you can you go. I was really pleased I got into Scotland- and Scotland did not disappoint. The first few miles felt different more wild and amazing. A stream followed me for the first 5 to 10 miles and it was all lovely. Weather again very good and warm.



There was a lot of miles to be done today though to get into Edinburgh (still hard to fathom St Ives - Edinburgh amazing!) so whilst I tried to get some smaller less busy routes, if possible, a lot of it was covered (particularly as I approached Edinburgh) on the A7 - a main road but not excessively busy. I must say the behaviour of cars on the trip has been excellent and courteous - almost no near misses or skirmishes the only one I can think off is a tractor that came close in Cornwall on day 2 but that has been it.



As above a few miles to get through today and it was largely a case of just doing it. A real buzz though arriving in Edinburgh I haven't been here for a few years but it always looks good this city. It has a real buzz about it as well - loads of people milling around all looking bright and as if they are doing something interesting. I found our hotel and met Neil another footballing friend, who is with me for the last part of the journey up to John O Groats. We had some food in another Wetherspoons - a lovely building and good food. We followed this up with a couple more drinks in a couple of good looking, lively bars then it was bed time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb