First Stop Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 23rd 2006
Published: August 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It was a good job I arrived early in Edinburgh because the last of the accommodation was being rapidly snapped up due to the August International and Film Festivals taking place.

The streets were bustling with street performers and people. It was very crowded and so I tended to stay away from those areas more often than not. Instead I went shopping, walked around and saw all the old buildings and visited Edinburgh Castle.

I stayed in the Royal Mile Backpackers hostel which had very friendly staff and free tea and coffee yay! A lot of people I met there were working in the festival or visiting it. I stayed in a room with 8 other guys and the dormitory smelt like 5 year old socks.

I will only stay in Edinburgh for 2 days, it's a very nice city and its not really enough time to look around properly so I will have to make a return visit one day when its not quite as busy. Next I will go to Oban via Glasgow.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Royal Mile BackpackersRoyal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers

This is my Hostel for the next few days
Me at the CastleMe at the Castle
Me at the Castle

WIth my cheesey hat
The CastleThe Castle
The Castle

The Castle is strong and was taken only by Seige but never by force.


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 23; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb