Loch Ness


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
July 6th 2011
Published: July 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Gotta make this short tonight. I'll try to write more later on certain destinations but it's just too late to write more tonight!

I got up this morning and headed for the bus to Loch Ness. Again, I ultimately decided on the trip not just for the destination, but for the opportunity to see more of the Highlands. It was gorgeous in certain areas…ok pretty much all areas. The weather stunk but on the plus side, the fog and low clouds made for pretty photo taking. I wouldn’t have minded it being sunny and dry but I can’t really complain since I haven’t really seen a day of rain in 6.5 weeks. I can hardly comprehend that. The only other times I saw rain…about 2.5 mins in Sevilla the night we went out with the Pacos, it sprinkled right when we left St. Moritz when I went to Switzerland and then yesterday it sprinkled here. I did the boat trip out onto Loch Ness since I figured I went all that way, I might as well see it from the middle! It was freeeeeeezinggggg!!! I’m accustomed to 35+C and it was less than 10C. (50F = 10C I think). I
In front of Ben NevisIn front of Ben NevisIn front of Ben Nevis

But you can't see it because my kind photographer chose the lower hills for the background.
am glad I decided to bring all of my layers with me. I even ended up finding a sweater on sale. YES! I still love it here. My favorite view from the tour was in Glen Coe. SO pretty. I want to go back already.

After I returned to Edinburgh, I went searching for a sweatshirt and ended up with a kilt skirt thing. I like it (it was on sale…would not have paid full price but it’s really cute!). I found a sweatshirt for only 10 pounds…yay!...but am going to go back and get it tomorrow. I also reserved a ticket for a Mary’s Close tour. I think I’m going to go to the Elephant House for breakfast and then not sure what is up for the rest of the day. Kinda gonna play it how I want to since I’m exhausted and I won’t get into London until late tomorrow. I will have to remember this for the future. If you make your reservations for flights later at night, you get in killer late and it’s a lot harder to figure out logistics when you’re tired.

Ok, I’m up too late so I am going to go catch some Zzzzzzzzz’s. They’ve been few and far between lately. Sorry for the lack of photos. Internet connection is being fussy.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb