Jekyll and Hyde


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
April 28th 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm going to have a Did you know? moment. No matter where you are in Scotland you’re always 200 or so km from the sea. Built on seven hills including a volcano, Edinburgh is gorgeous. Even though I woke up feeling the worse ever so far on this trip, I managed to get myself to the Castle. It was expensive to get in (C$20) but was just well enough to walk around and enjoy the view of the highlands, which are a must see. I climbed up Arthur’s seat (a mound) and really soaked in the view while clearing my sinuses thanks to Sudafed. First rookie mistake I made while traveling is getting sick my first few nights. Second blunder was waiting so long to get medicated. Anyways, that night I went on the Mercat Ghost and Ghouls Tour which was great in terms of learning about some of the history of Edinburgh, but a lot of long winded ghost stories rather than any real frights. Didn’t realize there were such barbaric acts back in the day. But not all of Edinburgh’s history is dark, and the city experienced quite a cosmopolitan side including housing some well known writers like Robert
Part 1Part 1Part 1

Up a close, backpack and all.
Lewis Stevenson. Although Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde was set in London, it’s said to have been based in Edinburgh because of the city’s own Jekyll and Hyde personality. To calm my nerves after the tour, I had drinks at a very old pub, the White Horse. I had tea instead of the traditional whiskey. I had problems sleeping. Should have had the whiskey.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Part 2Part 2
Part 2

You get the picture. This is also where the ghosts are said to roam. Creepy!
UndergroundUnderground
Underground

There's apparently an orb in this picture. I truly don't see it. I think I was lied to.
Highlands in the distanceHighlands in the distance
Highlands in the distance

A cannon is fired everyday at 1PM to let the ships at sea know the time. Or to scare the unsuspecting tourists.
Arthur's SeatArthur's Seat
Arthur's Seat

I adopted this hill as my seat for the afternoon.
Edinburgh CastleEdinburgh Castle
Edinburgh Castle

Recovering in the castle.


Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb