Edinbough - peacefull day


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
March 19th 2004
Published: March 19th 2004
Edit Blog Post

This was the view out my windowThis was the view out my windowThis was the view out my window

after a much need rest ... this was my view this evening.
Hi All,
Well yesterday was very quite - after a very crowed and uncomfortable night on a bus up here - I decided it was a day of rest. So I caught up on sleep (4 hour nap) .. lol and walked along the coast that the hostel is next to. It is going to take a little while for me to get up my next set of pics, they have a real class act at this hostel. Their are monitors and keyboards (several of them) but they are networked back to one server. So every station is like a dummy station - how it was before windows. Pretty slick - none one can screw this up. But on the flip side, it means no port to plug in my phone or cd rom. So it will be at least untill I meet up with everyone in rome. I have 6 hours to kill - so I will probally find and internet cafe there.
But back to my day. It was around sunset and it was beautiful. It is amazing how things are so diffrent from what you know. Uk at least is not a vast area of international style buildings. The downtowns are so diffrent than they are back home. There is a lot of classical type buildings (inspired) by the old Greece / Romans - with some new things thrown in. Very intresting. Plus you have the old churchs, which is about one thing the two places have in common. But I did notice on the train bus ride up - suberbia is suberbia. The house kinda of look the same in any context. Well I have booked two things. One for today and one for tommorrow.
I am doing an open bus tour today - if I do not die of the cold up here (it is still the winter season) then I will make it to go on the highland tour that I have booked for tommorrow. Then on monday is a day trip to Glasgow for another open top tour ride.
Today was a nice break from the very up tight and rushy London. They do not know what a personal bubble is. Expecially on the tube - you are lucky to find your own airspace to breath. But I guess that is how it goes. I want you all to know that there has been a starbuck's, pizza hut, McDonalds & burger king at every place I have been. I am afraid most of the world it Americanized.... lol. I have started a collection of Starbuck's pictures - the way they are put into the city is quite diffrent than we do ours. Back home everyone wants to be a freestanding building. Not over here. I have noticed that along most streets you have retail on the street level (and business) with residentail above. Except in the sections that are all residential. Know I know why the Europeans stay in such good shape. You really do not need a car - you can walk to about everthing.
Well I am not going on the whiskey tour - sorry john. But I am hoping to hop off at the Museaums of Art. They are free ... lol. I am also hoping that the mean women who wasn't much help will not have thrown away my address book. It had Jasmyn, JJ & Masher's pics in it plus airline resercation. I used it mostly before I left to plan my trip and it would be nice because I still need to book my Eurostar seats - other wise I will spend some time today recreating that. Well I do have to go. At tour awaits.
Talk to you later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.2097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb