Newcastle to Edinburgh peace England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
May 19th 2009
Published: May 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I was determined to get a few more things done today because yesterday was a little underachieved in my eyes. Started off by having some breaky and cleaning everything up so Rory would'nt have a bad taste in his mouth the next time someone asked him to surf. Got a picture saying goodbye with his roomie Helen wrote a quick note and i was off. Got to the Art Gallery in town and explored around there for quite some time. My train didnt leave untill 1 so it worked out well. They made me put my bad under the steps which was a little worrysome but they told me no one had ever taken anything from there and that they would personally run after em. I thought that was enough to rest my mind. After i had explored around a bit I was surprised to see a different person behind the desk!! She failed me hopefully the Scots are a bit more trustworthy hahaha. There was this wicked painting i took a pic of but found out that was strictly against the rules after i saw the signs over and over again...hahaha i was sneaky about it and im glad i did it. Then I walked around through the huge outdoor malls the cities in england seem to have everywhere. Bought myself a web cam to do some skyping with. Cost 10 pounds which is a bit of a rip but hopefullly i can make the best of er.
Then i was off on the train. Wonderful ride up the coast was able to see the sea quite a bit along the way. Got into Edinburgh and it was sunnier then hell. Lucky! They were doing a massive amount of construction on the main street Princess which was a pain in the ass. I set off for the Belford Hostel to rest a while and get some food in me. Managed to get there no problems which i was surprised in and checked into the hostel. Coolest hostel ever it was a church converted to have like 300 beds in it. No roofs on any of the rooms so it was something to see the roof from lying down. Stained glass windows and the whole bit. I got there around 4 so i was one of the only people in the building which was neat. Once i had everything all set up once again I had a roomate come into the room. Nice girl from Brazil whose name I cant remember but was living in Germany for this company in marketing. She said she was having a tough time speaking English again cause she was thinking in German. We both had a bit of a rest because there was a pub crawl at 830 that was supposed to be a lot of fun. SO i figured i wasnt doing anything else better why not!! Had my rest and got ready to go out...we walked into town which only took about 15 mins but we were slightly behind and didnt know exactly where the hell it was so we were rushing. Got to the spot they were meeting on High street and sat down to enjoy a couple pints. It was 10 pounds but u got a free drink at every bar so not that bad at all. The first bar was pretty tame but we headed off in like 30mins just enough for a good couple drinks. I was getting hungry but didnt have enough time for food at least there. That ended up killing me in the end. I got drunk and forgot i was hungry!!!! NOt good
The next bar we did a Jager Line which was a whole bunch of glasses alligned with shot glasses which was cool to see like dominoes. One of those and a couple more beers i was well on my way. Then the next pub had a show and it was in the basement. Cool place there was a two man band playing Foo fighters songs like My hero and The Presidents of the United States of America Lump. After that we went to another bar which had a bunch of levels one with a guy playin folk, and realized there was a guy from Vancouver and he bought me a couple drinks. Some kiwi guy bought everyone drinks so the night was going spot on. Then we went to a night club where there was three different rooms. One was like punker...one was just a dj playing popular music and the next was like electronic shit...Not a bad place
Then i stumbled out of there not even knowing where the hell i was going and got some late night munchies. Some chips at the stand down the road and stumbled my ass back to the hostel!! Then i passed out in my clothes....Not looking forward to tommorow!"!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Jager TrainJager Train
Jager Train

my glass was the only one that got stuck inside!
KareokeKareoke
Kareoke

So funny they sung Bon Jovi living on a prayer bunch of girls from NY and the kiwi


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb