The Aftermath (a.k.a. A New Year)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
January 1st 2006
Published: September 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

New Year's Day
Edinburgh, Scotland.

How to describe the first day of 2006? I am hazy on much of it, but this is an email (the only one?) sent 01/01/06, which I think illustrates the point:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
hiya kat,
well it's 1st jan, happy new years, about 4pm in the afterbnoon and i just got up and that was definitely a bad decision my head is never going to recover i am holding it in one hand and typing weith the other which takes ages to do and i may throw up at any mioment. eck. fantastic neww years, though. am in edinburgh. i love scotland!! got the tattoo. dont really like it but hey argh blah. i may die before sendingthis. am checkingf email for point with mate and hasve to pay for half houir so am catching up with old emails dont think i replied to yuo before now so sorry very busy. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
am dying,.. dyyyyiiingg
luv
emma

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



Having given up making a meeting with my (French) friend (living in Edinburgh), who I had dragged myself out of bed and along the pavement to the internet shop for, I promptly returned to bed.


...........By nightfall, and after many panadols, I had recovered enough to wander around for a while, though did not accomplish much at all. I had wanted to go ice-skating before returning to Surrey, but the rink was closed. Whether or not it had been open earlier in the day, I still don't know and is a moot point. It was not open for me. So I spent what was left of the evening devoted to belatedly re-acquainting myself with all of the lovely little day-to-day sights and sounds of this beloved city, content to wander aimlessly. I eventually found myself wandering through a quaint little Holiday Season market in Princes Street and then around the Old Town, including and up to the castle. Everything was lit up; all the tourist monuments - and even the ordinary working buildings - had some sparkle or cheer about them. It was worth the aching head, I decided, just to be alive in such a place at such a time.





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb