Last day in Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
May 24th 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I slept in until 10, took a shower and met up with Dave to find an internet cafe. We did, I wrote out a blog, printed a voucher and sat writing in my journal. Dave and I then walked around the city, in the parks. We stopped and watched a pick up soccer game. It was a beautiful day and I was enjoying the laid back sort of day.
Eventually Dave and I went our separate ways because he was meeting a friend he made on the airplane.
I was enjoying my laid back sort of day and decided to wander through the art museums. The National gallery of Scotland and the Scottish Gallery. both were beautiful. I find art fascinating and got lost in it for 3 hors. By then I was hungry again. I went past the Scottish Monument and headed toward Weavery Station so I could buy my train ticket for the next day at the much cheaper cost. I went to the advanced tickets window, took my number (31) and waited for it to be called.
As I was waiting 3 guys with my accent came in. I asked the one, Peter, where they were from and he replied Bucks County right outside of Philadelphia! What a small world. They needed a place to stay and all of Edinburgh was booked because of bank holiday. They walked back Castle Rocks with me, but to their disappointment there were no vacancies.
Because I was tired of being on my feet and it was 5 o'clock (I was meeting Kyle and Dave at 6), I decided to relax in the lounge until then and write in my journal. Almost as soon as I sat down, Kyle came through the door. He used the computer for a few minutes and then we decided to get a drink, wander the city until coming back for Dave at 6. I found a bottle of Reisling for £6! I was very excited... its really cheap there, in the US though, its 12 dollars. We wandered the whiskey shops so Kyle could find a bottle to bring home and we headed back to the hostel. We started playing pool. I started getting my game back. I won twice before 2 french guys challenged us to doubles. Their names were Jones and Max.
We won twice more because Jones and then Max sunk the 8 ball.
We got tried of playing and decided to head out. we went to Finnagan's Wake. Which amused me because I go to that bar in Philly all the time. There was a live band, the French bought 3 rounds of shots. They tried teaching me some French and Kyle and I decided to head back. I needed to catch a train early so I could get the ferry to Belfast.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb