An afternoon of whimsy in the park


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 13th 2005
Published: November 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Venturing out into a sun-bathed Edinburgh for the first time in over a month, my eyes hurt and went all squinty from the brightness. I couldn't remember the last time I saw the town as anything more than a looming pile of dour sillhouettes against the early morning (or afternoon) moonlight, and the sight of people walking the streets was quite overwhelming. Walking down to the Meadows in the almost-warmish kind of cold the sun now only feebly manages to provide here, it kind of felt like it was my first day again- a refreshing change from that month-long recurring deja vu of beer kegs, conveyor belts and overweight Scotsmen.

Ash and I scanned the crowds of people soaking up the 'sun', trying to spot a tall Jamaican and a shaggy Italian with an afro who had organised a game of soccer (...sorry, FOOTBALL!) for the Castle Rock crew to come and join. (I got the sneaking suspicion that it was the first time ANYONE had ventured out in days, as I discovered they all had the same squinty eyes as I did!) Ash, (being a 'hard-core' Aussie bastard) took off his shoes and started playing on what must have been sub-zero muddy turf, but was promptly told by the thick-skinned Highlanders on the other team that he was mad and to go put his shoes back on before he died. Not being able to spell Futbawl, let alone play it- I admittedly went to the sidelines to...*ahem*...uh... crochet a hat. :S

Twas 'nae bother', though because some of my fellow knitting-posse (Alaya and Ylva- the Swedish girl) soon joined me, followed by an Italian with a frisbee, which promted us to all get some excercise after all...

As soon as it had begun, it was all over, with the sun setting at 3:20 and things becoming unbearable freezing again (as opposed to just bearable freezing)

We spent approxinately 80 minutes being active in the sun.

Time to hibernate again.

Advertisement



14th November 2005

"I admittedly went to the sidelines to...*ahem*...uh... crochet a hat. :S" What's wrong with needlework? You said so yourself that "Life is shit if you can't knit" :p Ah, today was so LOVELY AND WARM AND SUNNY, NOT A CLOUD IN THE SKY!!!!! *coughcough yes I know I'm a wanker* x Struth
18th November 2005

well, i thought you would have been joining in with all that futbawl business! I know many who are going crazy about it here, aswell as that stupid and awrful pompous games called cricket...WHY???!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY AS TODAY IS FRIDAY!! LOVE, lucinda the mighty lucy
18th November 2005

hehe oh yes and the weather is jolly lovely. xx

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0975s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb