First post . . . let's talk about plans


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
March 30th 2008
Published: March 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi! So this is mostly a test post for me to figure out how to use this blog, and also to introduce any readers to my plans.

Around Christmas 2006 I realised I didn't have a clue what I wanted to do after uni, but did enjoy travelling, and would like to see a bit of the world. I've been saving steadily from summer jobs, so fortunately don't need to work after graduation to save - I can head off straight away. My plans went through a lot of changes, and I considered loads of ideas: WHV in New Zealand, trans-siberian, overland from here to Singapore via Iran and Pakistan, and many more, all of which fell by the wayside for a range of reasons, from cost to safety.

Finally, in September 2007, I made a decision. I heard that you can get working holiday visas for Japan, and decided to go for it. Working abroad appealed: it would enable me to stretch my funds further, and really get to know a country. Japan appealed partly because it is non-English speaking and seems more different than, say, Oz. So I applied for and got my visa, and booked a one-way ticket to Tokyo, leaving London Heathrow on 7th July (changing in Frankfurt). I've also booked some accommodation for when I get there: I'll be spending a week in Tokyo (I still need to book this, but have chosen a hostel) and then going to Kyoto, where I'll initally be living in Ebisu's Gaijin House. I hope to find some work, but also see the sights and enjoy life.

After July, my "plans" are pretty much non-existant. I have some ideas. I'd like to walk the route of the 88 temple pilgrimage on Shikoku. A friend (James) will, hopefully, be coming out in autumn and we'll travel around together for a bit. If I like Japan and the money lasts, I may stay all the way through to spring, in which case I'd also get to meet up with Ceri and Mark when they visit Japan on their round the world trip. However, I also badly want to get to South East Asia (probably overland via South Korea and China, with perhaps a side trip to Mongolis) so if money starts to run short, or if I don't take to Japan, I may leave Japan earlier. But it really is a case of wait and see. The wonderful thing about this trip is the complete freedom I have to go where I like and do what I want, the only constraints being the need to get visas, and the fact that sooner or later (hopefully later) I'll run out of cash.

My interests when travelling are pretty broad. I like to visit the big sights, do the whole temples and history stuff. I also love trying the food, wandering around places, and simply chilling out. I would love to learn to dive at some point on this trip.

Before I leave for Japan, I have a two week holiday in Iran coming up, which I am very excited about! I also have some exams and stuff, but let's not talk about them!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb