A Word Before We Go...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
February 15th 2008
Published: February 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

EdinburghEdinburghEdinburgh

Home Sweet Home
Karen says:

Well it has been a long time coming but finally Tony and I are ready (almost) to leave Scotland. We have left our jobs (hurrah!), moved out our flat, bought the gear, partied at our farewell fiesta and finally packed our rucksacks. All that is left is a few final farewells at Edinburgh airport.

The plan is to travel for a year, all going well we hope our route will be as follows: Brazil - Argentina - Bolivia - Peru- Ecuador-Chile-New Zealand-Fiji-Singapore-Malaysia-Thailand-Laos-Cambodia-Vietnam and finally home sweet home.

A wee bit background on why we are doing this: personally I have wanted to go on a big RTW trip ever since I was a lass, thanks to the many camping trips in Scotland and England with my Mum, Dad and brother, a love of 'roughing it' was instilled in me from a young age. I love nothing better than being off in the hills, or brewing up on my camping stove, so I really can't think of anything better than spending a year on the road, hopefully mostly outdoors, living out my bag. Also, from studying Spanish and learning about all things Latin American I have always wanted to visit and experience life in Latin America. Thirdly, why not? It should be lots of fun and I get to spend a year not working, hanging out with Tony - ace!

Of course, as much as I am excited I am also a tiny wee bit scared, I will miss my family and friends so much, I wont be able to drink Irn Bru for a long time, no chilling on the sofa watching David Attenborough, no lunching out with my Mum and Aunties, no Scotland! But I think it will be worth it and it will all be here waiting for me when I get home.

2 sleeps to go! Decent.


Tones says:

Indeed, my thoughts exactly... OK, so 2 sleeps to go... But it has been a long process getting from the magical idea in our heads to the reality of finally jetting off to Rio, so where did it all begin for me?

Almost every year throughout my childhood mum took my brother, sister and I travelling around Scotlands highlands and lowlands for weeks at a time. I think this gave me my initial love of travelling, the outdoors and Scotland in general. Throughout my school and university years I was involved in various organisations which offered regular camping expeditions and outdoor experiences, nuturing the spirit of travel and adventure in me.

So for many years I have wanted to get away from it all, to experience the world at large, to see the amazing awe inspiring scenery and sights the world has to offer and to gain some inspiration and direction for my life. This idea has developed and evolved with Karen into the year we are about to embark on.

Talking about a trip is one thing, planning and organising it is another! The details are somewhat boring, but suffice to say it has been a very long and sometimes stressful year. There has been a lot to think about and consider over the months, but I think it has all been worth it, excitement levels are now peaking and we both really cant wait to get away!

Having said that, it will of course be very sad to leave behind many different aspects of our lives, family and friends being the most obvious.


Tony and Karen say:

Last but not least we would like to say a huge thank you to all the friends and family who have supported us throughout the last year or so, without you it would not have been possible. So thank you all so much, we are eternally grateful. Cheers!

Next stop...RIO!





Advertisement



16th February 2008

Good Luck
Good luck guys, you will be missed, it was a pleasure having you to stay!! The room will be ready and waiting on your arrival... Big Manly Hugs
17th February 2008

Irn Bru
Don't worry I'll have some Bru chilling in the fridge for when you reach NZ.
20th February 2008

Good Luck
best wishes to you both, I hope you have a great time!
22nd February 2008

Missing you
Yup, missing you already but sooooo delighted that you are at last travelling. Looking forward to reading the first blog from Brazil.Loadsa Luv, yer Ma.xxxx
26th February 2008

sunshine in the rain
Hi glad to know all is going well. Loved reading both your blogs. Thought I was there. I wish! Loved the photos Tony. Keep the blogs coming. Can't wait to read the next. Enjoy the next adventure. Lots of love xx
2nd March 2008

It has stopped raining
Hi just read your comments on Ilha Grande - I want to go! Loved the view from the hostel. It looks a beautiful island. Tony I see a new career opening up as a travel writer. Palin watch out! Keep blogging. Lots of love xxx
6th March 2008

Aye...Luv meh!!!
We wont miss u in the slightest, we think its the most boring thing u can do with ur lifes and hav absolutely no respecta for u at all.... (aye rite) Love u guys and hope ur life experience benefits u in every aspect. (K) Hi, lins here. What can I say? You've picked all the countries I would have and you're inspiring me to do similar trip. I'm sitting here in me new hoose and once got that sorted gonna get me to thinking about meeting you somewhere across the globe on your tavels. But where? Hope you had a good flight out and keep us posted with tales of your exploits ploise XXXXXXXXX

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb