Living on a Mound


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
September 24th 2005
Published: September 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sitting on the MoundSitting on the MoundSitting on the Mound

The Mound was built in 1071 by the Saxons as a defence something-or-other against someone-or-other. Now I live on it.
I'm reading a book called The Wind Up Bird Chronical at the moment in which the main character spends most of his time living down a well for reasons of reflection... I found myself in a similar situation today, only on the top of a medieval mound. Kind of the opposite, but the same. I spent my time on the mound napping, playing tunes on Lila and studying bugs that kept crawling over the pages of my book. I have never studied a mosquito so hard! I figured that it was as good as anything to do now, as one day I may not have the eyesight to study such things. I think I got more joy out of one mosquito than twenty have gotten blood out of me... sound bizarre? It probably is. But then, I'm currently a homeless guy living in Oxford who lives on bread, cheese and apples and plays ukulele for a living! 😊 I consider that a worthy cause for me to act weird. Last night and today I busked for a while and have made over £50! That's over $100- so I'm definitely not the poorest homeless guy around!

The reason I am homeless,
Last Day with AgnesLast Day with AgnesLast Day with Agnes

In Belgium with Ash & Alaya just before crossing back over to England on the ferry.
is that I woke up at 10am this morning, hoping to roll out of bed, have a leisurely breakfast and check in for the day at reception a good half an hour before check-out time, only to discover that they had given my bed away and the hostel was fully booked! So I was ejected out onto the streets, and am still wondering what to do for a bed tonight. I'm not really worried, as this was almost exactly the situation I was in at this time yesterday, when my bank-card wouldn't work in London and nearly had to busk for a ticket to Oxford (I eventually found a machine that liked my card, so that fixed that).

Alaya is coming to Stow-on-the-Wold (one of those riduculously long British names), which is near Oxford on Tuesday, and I might try to get over there to see her and grab my bag of stuff that she has been storing for me since Australia. Really don't want to have to travel with more baggage though!

And then, to Edinburgh... as the grand plan goes! If I don't find a place to stay, I may just go there tonight!

Au
Who's that man?Who's that man?Who's that man?

The shifty-looking sillhouette of a ukulelist on the ferry...
Revoir!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Wee menWee men
Wee men

Thousands of pissing man souveneirs in Brussels...
Mannekin PisMannekin Pis
Mannekin Pis

...and the real thing. He's tiny! Apparently some guy in 1600-and-something found his kid urinating in an alley and for some reason the whole country decided to celebrate with this statue!
All things BelgianAll things Belgian
All things Belgian

mmm... beer... chocolate... belguim... :)
Woohoo!Woohoo!
Woohoo!

Alaya jumping for joy in Brussels
A Bigger MoundA Bigger Mound
A Bigger Mound

At the battle of Waterloo- beats the shit out of my mound! :P
My View of EuropeMy View of Europe
My View of Europe

Unfortunately, this was mostly what I saw throughout our van journey. I would've prefered it to be more chilled out, however it was a good taster I suppose.


24th September 2005

u winging pom...!! :)
spending the day on a hill doesnt mean you live on it...youve been reading too much melodrama!... if ur that stuck just call my aunty!!... its a five minuet bus ride away...or find a new hostel!...or mayby a vogon will pick you up and take you away from this terrible nasty world... have you got a good towel...?

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb