A day trip to Edinburgh (Scotland)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
February 28th 2006
Published: February 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Frankly, having a short visit to the most fascinating cities in the world (I suppose) is always a rewarding experience...

My 3-hours stay at the city centre of Edinburgh was really an achievement being an urban planner. Edinburgh is one of the old cities in the world and a very good example of the early and modern urban planning! Prior to my visit, stories about the city were just purely accounts of authors from books and magazines... and my own imagination!

Being there alone was really a wonderful feeling of fulfillment - experiencing what these authors said about this Scottish city... amazing, magnificent, awesome, beautiful and fantastic - those words described my feelings - admiration at first sight! Wow!...Through my digital camera, I was able to explore the places, enjoy the city scenery - the architecture - the urban form!

One of the interesting structures at the city centre is the The Scott Monument, with a towering height of 200 feet and 287 steps to climb (no lift) for £3 which gives a 360 degrees' view of the city. This is the best focal point to see Scotland's magnificent urban settlement especially if there is only a limited time to stroll around the city.

It was designed by George Meikle Kemp and scuplted by Sir John Steell. The foundation was laind in August 1840 and completed in 1844 (Autumn). The entrance gave me a 'certificate' certifying that I was able to climb the structure, bearing a number to prove its authenticity. My certificate is 168070!

Thanks for the coach driver for being so kind to bring me there (safe) just for a half day and of course the Daily Mirror (newspaper) for the £5 day-return ferry ticket!

REYgards@2007





Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.361s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb