NYC, London, and Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
March 22nd 2007
Published: March 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Man, this catching up on my Blog is a lot of work. Instead of writing about what I have done, I want to start writing about what’s happening now. So I’ll sum up quick and get to the good part. On March 10th I went to NYC and stayed with some old college friends (thank you Tricia and Carol!) I saw Spamalot, and did all the typical tourist stuff. Then I went to London, and did some more sightseeing. I also saw Spamalot (yes again because I loved it so much, but Broadway’s version was much better), Wicked, Avenue Q, Cabaret, and Phantom of the Opera. There were some funny songs in Avenue Q, but for the most part it was terrible. I also did not like Cabaret; the London version had a lot of unnecessary nudity and the actors had weak voices.

But now I am in Edinburgh (or as the people here say “Edinbureh”), Scotland. I love Scotland! When I went to pubs in London, sometimes I would get the “what are you doing here, tourist?” vibe from the locals, but here the locals are so inviting and are quick to start up conversations. Here are the top ten reasons Scotland is the perfect place for me:

1. They fry everything, even pizza. That’s right, they seriously batter and deep fat fry pizza; they are also the inventors of the fried Mars bars.

2. You can get really good scotch and beer here.

3. Although they use pounds, it is much cheaper than London.

4. Edinburgh is the most scenic city with old castles, churches, and rolling hills.

5. Every night there seems to be a pub nearby with Karaoke.

6. The men are extremely chivalrous (I can’t even count the number of times my hand has been kissed).

7. Plaid is always in season.

8. You can buy un-pasteurized cheese here.

9. It is physically impossible to not smile when talking to someone with a Scottish accent. Jokes are also 75% funnier when told in a Scottish accent.

10. And best of all, the men wear skirts!

So much has happened these last few days, but the big news is this morning I got a call from Elicia (an old friend from Alabama who happens to be working in Germany), and I am flying out to see her in early April. She’s going to try and get some time off so we can go to Greece, Spain, and France. I’m heading to Dublin on the 26th, and will try to upload photos soon so keep and eye out for that.


Advertisement



22nd March 2007

i can't beleive you saw more shows in a week than i have in my entire life. i'm so jealous. and scotland sounds frickin' amazing. ive only heard wonderful things about that place. i'm totally coming to visit when you move there.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb