End of the Trip


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
September 12th 2019
Published: September 12th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today was the last day of my 2019 trip. It was a nice relaxing choice to put Edinburgh at the end. Today I visited a couple of minor museums and took a short guided tour. The tour was through “underground” Edinburgh although technically it was through some old alleyways, houses, and shops that had been built over and forgotten. Seattle has a similar underground tour. Edinburgh‘s tour is called The Real Mary King’s Close and it was part educational and part entertainment with some actual history, some ghost stories, and some humorous anecdotes. I also visited a museum about the history of the city of Edinburgh and found it more interesting than I expected for a free museum. I didn’t take many pictures, but I did take one of a brick that was made in the area a century ago. It’s surprising how frequently one finds bricks in museum displays. And now I am at Edinburgh airport waiting for my flight to board. It seems like a busy airport, but there are lots of personnel on hand to keep things moving. I was impressed that the wait time for security was only 3 minutes. I wish the US airports could say the same! So now it is time to think back over my trip and give a summary. I am reminded of something Rick Steves wrote once about the high highs and low lows that one experiences when traveling alone. I certainly enjoyed being able to do just what I wanted in London, through Scandinavia, Estonia and Finland, the Low Countries, and on into Edinburgh. But there were also frustrations that were perhaps more acute because I was by myself. Overall it was a very successful trip and I am pleased to have returned to places I last saw in my twenties (Norway, Sweden, Denmark). But I liked seeing newplaces even more (Tallinn, Helsinki, Dutch and Belgian towns outside the capitals). It was fun, too, to travel so much by train (my favorite form of transportation) when I was in London, Holland, and Belgium. And with that, I’ll close out another trip and begin thinking about where I might want to travel next.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



13th September 2019

I enjoyed your itinerary.
I was your mom Betty Lou's friend and I always followed all of your trips. I especially enjoyed this one as my husband and I went to almost all of the same places that you did but you also visited some out of the way places we had missed. We loved seeing your comments and pictures. Thank you for allowing me to enjoy your trip. Karen Hayes

Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0907s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb