Onward to Glasgow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
August 27th 2008
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today is the day my mom and I are leaving for Scotland for a nineteen day vacation. I took today off of work and I spent it running around like mad! I Finished packing, then ran to the mall as I decided I had to have a couple more long sleeve tees and pairs of jeans. I got home and the limo was there ten minutes early. Eek!

I dislocated my elbow on August 1st in an ATV accident so this will be an interesting trip. I am just out of the Bledsoe brace that I had to wear 24/7 and now my arm is weak and sore and I have to be careful not to lift anything heavy. Since I usually carry and lift both my luggage and my mom’s this will be a challenge. I also have a Dynasplint to wear at night to try to stretch my elbow so I can regain full extension. Elbows are notoriously stiff and it was pretty much bent at 90 degrees at first and didn’t move much.

We made it to Logan (Boston, MA) in good time and checked four bags between us and they didn’t even charge us for mom’s overweight bags. Good deal! From the Aer Lingus counter we made our way to the security line, which was really long! The TSA agent made us step out of line to stuff our purses into our book bags so we would only have 2 carry on bags each. We told her we would put them in the book bags after we cleared security, but she didn’t care.

When we were finally through security, we were still so early that we had hours to wait till boarding time. Boring! We decided to get something to eat at the restaurant at the end of the concourse, which coincidentally is the same restaurant that Steve, Alice and I ate at last year when we were heading to Greece.

We had a little trouble getting the camera gear bag in the overhead compartment because of my stupid elbow, but a nice lady ‘volunteered’ her tall husband to put it up there for us. We had an aisle and a window seat together as the plane was a 2 4 2 seating configuration. The flight was uneventful until minutes after they served our meal. Then turbulence struck and kept up for at least an hour. Bad turbulence - like being in a blender! I decided to close my eyes and try to sleep. When I woke up the plane was dark, and of course mom was still up reading. She can’t sleep on planes at all!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb