Back in cold, wet Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
January 26th 2008
Published: January 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Good reason to come homeGood reason to come homeGood reason to come home

Galway is the ginger cat and Chuckie black and white.
Hi Folks,

Now back in cold, wet Scotland. Flight home was relatively uneventful - everything went well. I sat beside a lovely Peruvian girl and her two year old daughter, Kassimee, on the way home. Kassimee and I had great fun chatting and playing games in Spanish, and she slept all night. Her mum (Brenda) was lovely too.

I said my goodbyes to Fiona from our group in Amsterdam and arrived back in Glasgow at 4pm - straight back to wild wind and rain. I had said to my mum to go to the football and not come to meet me. Got a cab and headed straight home. Was just on the verge of wondering why I had come home when I received a royal welcome from my two cats (Chuckie and Galway) who were absolutely thrilled to see me and wanted to check out my interesting luggage!!

When I got into the lounge, I immediately spotted the big banner (well, I really couldn't miss it) that mum had made for me, and the lovely flowers she had left. She had also filled my fridge with lots of fruit and veg, bread and milk etc. HUGE thank you
Welcome Home BannerWelcome Home BannerWelcome Home Banner

Just typical of my Mum!!
mum.

It wasn't long before the phone started ringing - all my family and friends checking I was home safe and all in one piece, and then mum arrived looking like nanook of the north, straight from the football. I guess there are still lots of reasons to keep me in the UK!!

It's actually Tuesday 29 January as I write this and I've been back at work two days. Not the best feeling in the world, but will get there. The rest of the VT group arrive home tomorrow.

Since I've been home, I've been thinking about the contrasts between my life here and my time in Peru. Have attached a few photos to illustrate my point - mainly based on the differences between my own home and Los Gorriones, and the Girasoles homes. Really does make me very grateful for the life I have and all the opportunities I have. Also makes me determined not to waste a minute of it!!

Can definitely say that the best thing about being home is my cats (sorry - they come first), family and friends, although I will really miss Peru. Hoping to be back out to
Front of houseFront of houseFront of house

and my car!
do the Inca Trail next year - open invitation to anyone who wants to join me - you just have to raise funds for Los Gorriones and the Vine Truts.

Anyway - that's all from me from this trip - hope you enjoyed the journey, and it made you realise just how lucky and privileged we really all are.

Adios!

Lesley x




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

RimacRimac
Rimac

matt on the floor for the street kids
Girasoles IcaGirasoles Ica
Girasoles Ica

Boys bedrooms
Los GorrionesLos Gorriones
Los Gorriones

Kitchen cupboards
Los Gorriones Los Gorriones
Los Gorriones

Washing machine


30th January 2008

thank you
dear lesley thank you for your great blog! it was very intresting to read it and i was hoping every day to find a new blog when i started the computer! you did a great job how you wrote and your thoughts were very deep, interesting and let me think also a lot about the big contrasts between our safe swiss (european) live and the one in peru or any other poor country. i will miss your blogs! take care! we will hear each other soon! esther
6th February 2008

Thanks
Hi - thanks Lesley for taking us on your journey with you. You write with such enthusiasm and conviction. I will be meeting up with Eileen and Wendy tomorrow and thinking of you and other absent friends. Vicki :-)

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb