Going Native


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
March 18th 2007
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Before I came to Scotland, I drank maybe once a month, probably not even that much. Friends back home will testify. Now? - Almost every weekend. Why this has happened, you might ask. The drinking culture here is strong. They start drinking at about 6pm and last till the early rays of sun start peeking through the thick grey clouds. This is evident in their “no more food served” policy after 6. I, unfortunately, do not have the Scottish stamina for partying and drinking and start looking for my bed at around 12. I feel if they could start drinking at a more decent time, say 9-10, then I may be able to go past midnight.

It’s the middle of March and it is snowing. I had a hang over from hell this morning and had to take one of my most coveted green pills (Advil gel caps). I was supposed to call my parents today but realized that the only place that sells phone cards is closed on Sundays. Actually, I really should have known better; many places are not open Saturdays and Sundays.

I’ve booked a trip to Switzerland to visit my cousin in Lausanne. I’ll be going for four days from the 6th of April to the 10th. I’m still in negotiations with my Canadian roommate about a trip to Spain during the Easter two week break.

I couldn’t be in Ireland for St. Patrick’s Day but made sure to celebrate to the best of my ability. I made it to 2am this time!

I took the initiative of stealing the bar drinking menu and taking home some of the more interesting club/bar flyers they keep putting on the tables.



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



19th March 2007

Yay! An update finally!
Good to hear you're preparing your liver for your welcome-home party this summer. heheh
19th March 2007

scottish drinking habits
I hope you know that we fully expect you to continue the drinking when you return :) Kris
19th March 2007

homecoming
Don't worry, I'll be drinking the boys to the ground by then.
26th March 2007

you go girl...
chugging back beers like the locals, eh? wicked. have a great time in switzerland....and PLEASE DO GO TO SPAIN!!!! i want to see your pictures when we next meet up. miss you. hope you're liver doesn't quit on you.... lora. p.s. i'm living in kelowna now....it's so NOT snowing here...it's 15+ and sunny as hell. good-bye rainy vancouver! : P

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb