Final day in Glasgow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
November 13th 2006
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Always Sunday (Edinburgh)Always Sunday (Edinburgh)Always Sunday (Edinburgh)

This place was a really good one. And they even had a vegetarian haggis, whatever that might be (I didn't dare trying it...)
First of all, I must apologize for not bringing a proper camera. My mobile is really shitty as soon as I'm not completely still and it's not broad daylight. So there are fewer pictures here than I'd hoped for.

So, after two days filled with conferencing (at least they had good teas in the breaks and I avoided the cookies as much as possible ;-) ), I had one day left. Unfortunately, due to several things, but mostly that I had taken on a very badly formatted translation text the days before and during the conference, I now had to work a bit as well, so my plans of seeing more of both Edinburgh and Glasgow melted away.

But at least I started my Sunday at a good breakfast café. "Always Sunday", not a bad name, and they had a freshly squeezed orange juice to die for, and then several different types of breakfasts. I did NOT chose the breakfast that I saw two women (age about 30, maybe 40) having beside me: potato cake, sausage, bacon and something that looked like Swedish blodpudding, but I don't know the English name, sorry. It looked like it would stick to
Weird clockWeird clockWeird clock

This was a very interesting statue-clock, just outside the Glasgow bus station. Seems fitting, in it's way.
their intestines for a week, at least.

Then, I had decided to take the bus to Glasgow, when I found out that it cost halv of the train ride. Bad idea. The reason is of course because it takes more or less the double amount of time. Bad idea because I didn't have enough batteries in my computer to work on the bus, so I had to do that when arriving in Glasgow. Note to self: do not only check price, but also time.

From last time I went here, I remembered seeing loads of rabbits on the fields. Especially up somewhere between Elgin and Aberdeen, but also at other places. Between Edinburgh and Glasgow, there were none. But on the other hand, I went there around 11 o'clock, so I guess all rabbits were in their holes drinking tea.

Well, in Glasgow I had booked a room at Eurohostel, which was decent. Not as cosy as Castle Rock in Edinburgh, but still: free WiFi in the hostel bar (and you didn't have to buy anything either), and even showers and toilets inside the dorm, which is rare for hostels.
Good location just beside the railway station
Nemi in Scotland!Nemi in Scotland!Nemi in Scotland!

Nemi is even exported to Scotland! I picked up a local Metro paper, and here's the evidence! Since Lise (the cartoonist) doesn't want her pictures published without permission, here's a blurry one, just for the sake of evidence!
as well.

So, after having found the fabulously designed can of Relentless (I only now realised it's a C-C company product, doh!), I drank that, working to meet my deadlines.
Then I was going to meet a couple of friends, and I go down to the lobby to call them, and after realising that no-one's answering, there I hear my name behind me! Turns out Richard has managed to go all the way up the stairs while I was in the elevator down, then he'd be panting too much to dare knock on a female dorm door (good thinking!), and then he took the wrong elevator down, to end up in some basement area and then finally finding his way to the lobby again! Poor guy, running up 8 floors just to find I'm not there...

So, we went to eat at a place called Café Andaluz (which later turned out to be not the place we were supposed to have gone to, but since neither of us remembered the name of the place, this is what we found. But it's good, maybe not good enough for a Spanish hard-core gourmet, but still perfectly good food, some better than good, and they had managed to get a really cosy atmosphere. Tapas for around 3 to 5 punds each, a very good (lacto-)vegetarian menu too.

Then Richard was kind enough to drive me to their home, and there we hung out, including a glass (for me) of the black whisky, the Cú Dhub, which is actually (as you can see if you click the link) a Danish idea, but made in Scotland. It was good, interesting, and maybe not very pure whisky, but definitely worth buying if you drink strong liquids, and not only for the colour and the bottle :-)

But the evening had to end, and I had to sleep, because Monday morning at 6 a.m. I had to rise and shine to get in time for my flight. I just long for my next trip to this part of the world, to see more of it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb