First Impressions of Glasgow Center


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow » West End
September 4th 2011
Published: September 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Looking over at the clock on my Mac Thursday morning as I woke up, I saw the time read 8:34 am. Hmmm, I thought, that means... OH MAN IT'S 1:34 PM! I have never experienced jetlag before, but I guess that long night sleep was necessary. Getting the most out of what I had left of the day was a must, so after a quick bowl of Crunchy Nut cereal, Lauren and I headed for Glasgow Center to see the haps.

What I noticed, even as I took my first walk through the neighborhood, was how populated the streets were, and how many businesses were so densely packed in. Everywhere in all directions were food shops of all different cultures, restaurants, pubs, barbershops, pawn shops, theaters, galleries, everything. And this is only in the local West End! As we walked east down Argyle Street I noticed that the buildings gradually went from stone to glass and metal, a much more modern feel. After crossing the bridge over the highway, the walk turned into a steady incline up the big hill that stood between us and the city center. We passed the renown King Tut's Wah Wah Hut, a definite destination for one of my nights of enjoying live music, and all sorts of other great pubs and such I was eager to try out.

I was nervous about the cost of every eating prior to arriving in Glasgow, but reading the outside menus of most restaurants quickly assuaged my fears. Most places had great lunch selections for as little as 4.50p! One place in particular caught our eye, Rufus T Fireflies, where they were boasting a (red meat) burger and a pint for 4.95. Without any debate, we ventured in for lunch. The atmosphere was exactly what I was looking for- pool table right at the front, all sorts of vintage vinyls lining the, including a signed gold Master of Puppets, leather couches for lounging, and very friendly mates working behind the bar. Lauren and I were delighted by the burgers, (mmmm MEAT) and also the salt and vinegar to go with the fries..ahem...chips were a delicious condiment combination I have never thought of before. Adorning the walls were fliers for the Cathouse Club that held live music the majority of the nights out of the week, and when we asked our server directions he kindly drew us a map to walk there.

After this very enjoyable lunch we continued down the huge hill into the city's center, a bustling couple of blocks with cobblestones and no cars, big department stores and brand name clothiers, and all sorts of other attractions. Street musicians were happily playing, and without a place even to put money. And I don't mean single performers, there were three-piece bands that even included a full drum set playing popular covers of Coldplay and U2. This was also where I saw my first American chains, a McDonalds, Burger King, Starbucks, and KFC. I guess globalization imports only the best of the good ol' USA. I used the bathroom of the Mickey D's and I do have to say, it was much cleaner and a nicer place to dine than your average American one. We found a Poundland, the UK equivalent of a dollar store, and stopped in for much needed toiletries and kitchen supplies. Unlike any Dollar Store I've been in, Poundland was clean, well organized, and had very useful and decent quality products for only a pound- sets of silverware, plates, spatulas, Head and Shoulders, razors. A one stop shop for everything that I wasn't able to bring over here. I left Glasgow Center feeling like I had definitely made the most out of a mostly slept-through day.

That night we went to Oren Mor, a pub/nightclub built from an old cathedral. Absolutely beautiful! As we were walking in, a gentleman in sweatpants was turned away for not having the proper attire. ("I only wanted a pint!" the poor guy said as he turned to leave). The stone atrium itself was a sight, but the bar on the first floor was amazing. Old oak walls and booths, stained glass art everywhere. It was packed with merry Scots of all ages, enjoying delicious draughts and sharing stories of their week. I helped myself to a John Smiths brew, an incredibly smooth dark ale, and pleasantly enjoyed the happenings around me.

After Lauren and I finished our drinks, we headed downstairs to Club O, a nightclub in the basement of this once-holy place. Us being some of the first students to move into the area, the dance floor stayed empty the whole night, but the 3.00p Guiness and the DJ set kept us entertained for a while. We headed home that night through the streets that seemingly never sleep, and felt like this adventure was only getting better and better every day.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb