No, on the left.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow » West End
July 21st 2009
Published: July 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Aye ah' morning ta yah.

So Scotland has been an absolute whirlwind...though, of course, amazing. Perfect temps here as well. Glasgow's treating me proper - went for a run in the park on Sunday (after being kept up in Oslo again then night before...by the same snorer! Fate has a sense of irony, to be sure.), then yesterday rented a car and drove up to Glen Coe for some amazing hiking.

I had rented a tiny little car (the "4 wheels w/optional transmission option"), but as they were slammed and couldn't be bothered they gave me a 4-WD Nissan instead! Driving the highlands in style...though I couldn't figure out how to get the thing in reverse, causing me a bit of embarassment trying to get out of the rental station (Steve's travel hint for the day: pull up on the shifter, come all the way right and down, and reverse shall be granted you - crazy Brit cars). And of course, that whole driving on the left thing...you'd think I'd have the hang of that by now, but it's still a little off when you first drive away!

Rain for a bit of the hike, but by the end there were even 5 minute windows of sun...which you've gotta take in Scotland as a good sign.

Pictures soon - this afternoon I head to Oxford to meet Lara and Jacob, and then tomorrow...Paris! Now if I can just find a laundry to dry my clothes before then, as the hostel had a washing machine but no (working) dryer. Tho the broken one was available. -steve g




Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb