Winding down.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow » West End
December 2nd 2008
Published: December 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,

So I don't really have a lot to update but I figured I should sneak in one more before I'm back in Canada.

Since the last post (which apparently was almost a month ago) I've mainly been working on getting my essays over here done, which I'm glad to say they are! I wasn't out of school for that long before coming here, technically only for the summer but that last semester was a bit of a joke, so you wouldn't think that getting back into the groove of writing essays would be that hard but I struggled. I can only imagine what it was like for some of the people who have been out of school for years (or decades in one case). I managed to write 2 essays of questionable quality, at least from my perspective, and so far I've gotten one back and it wasn't as bad as I thought; a 2:1.

Which brings me to the British grading system. I have no idea how this works. Apparently things are marked on a 22 point scale (why 22 who knows) but that's not what you get told as a mark. You either get a first (roughly an A) a 2:1 (about a B) or a 2:2 (C) or fail. It's all very confusing but the good thing is that I did better than I thought I would so hooray! Anyways that's my first set of essays, now I just need to figure out when I'm going to write three more while I'm home.

On the more social side I've mainly been hanging out with friends and going to the pub. I did see the Celtic vs somedanishteamIcannotevenbegintospell match and it was a pretty good game. Celtic lost 2-1 off of a deflection off of a defender and the people I was with were quite upset. Over here the two local teams are the Rangers and Celtic and it's all taken very seriously. Anyways that loss kicked Celtic out of the Champions League and that didn't go over too well with the people I was with.

I have my last class of the semester on Thursday and then I'm headed on the long trek back home on Sunday so if you're in Vancouver I'll see you around.

Cheers,
Nate

Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb