No monsters up here


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Inverness
April 24th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Loch NessLoch NessLoch Ness

No monsters but great views
No Loch Ness Monsters up here in Scotland! I spent a couple of hours searching around the 70 mile lake that it is supposed to be in as well! The Loch Ness lake is obviously way bigger that I first though it would be and took a good 3 hours on bicycle to go and see only a tiny part of it then it started to pour so I turned around and headed home.

So I'm up in North Scotland now but leaving tomorrow because the weather is supposed to be bad for a few days so heading to the West Coast then to Fort William to hike up the highest mountain in Britain which isn’t to big anyway but oh well.

I Flew into Edinburgh on Wednesday after leaving several things behind at the airport, bloody early flights always gets me and was greeted by a windy, cold and raining Scotland. I guess it was about time it rained where I was since I was in Ireland over a month and it didn't even look like raining at all. Of course the main attraction in Edinburgh is the Castle on top of a hill right in the middle
Edinburgh CastleEdinburgh CastleEdinburgh Castle

The main thing to see there

Edinburgh Castle
The main thing to see thereof the city. There is not much to see inside the Castle once you get through the crowd and I thought it looked much better from the outside.

Went to the museums there and they have just finished building a new one and I was in there for 6 hours and hardly got around any of the place. It is huge ad has all different kinds of gadgets to play with and things to ride on oh and there was some useful information as well I guess. I had to go back the next day to finish that place and beside it is the old museum so that took some getting through as well.

There is also a mountain at the he back of the city that has great views of all the city and the surrounding area. It was a nice walk to the top and luckily the clouds decided to disappear for the time I and plenty of others were there for the great views of the city.

Not to many people living in Edinburgh well I thought there would be plenty more but only 500,000 people living there ad really there is only one
Looking up at the mountain
main street that goes along the from of the Castle. It is in two separate sides, the old city and the new. The old city is much more fun to go and look around in and plus that is wear all off the old building are and the good pubs of course.

Well it was going to happen sometime, my hitchhiking went bad! I got up nice and early and walked three hours out of the city onto the main road which goes up here to Inverness then of course it started to rain! Still I held the sign out for about an hour then I noticed a car slowing down and who should it be but the police. So I near got arrested for standing next to the sign that says motorway (supposed to stand in front of it) and walked back into the city soaking wet. When back in the city (3 hours latter) I just jumped onto the next bus heading this to Inverness and slept all the way in my soaking clothes next to a unlucky guy sitting next to me. So I
Balnuaran of ClovaBalnuaran of ClovaBalnuaran of Clova

3 to 4 thousand years old
thought I had a pretty exhausting day until I got to the
Balnuaran of Clova
3 to 4 thousand years oldplace I was staying and they had a bath going for me when I arrived! It was amazing and soon enough I was sleeping in there and woke up all nice and wrinkly! But it was exactly what I needed.

There is not much to do here in Inverness unless head out into the country side and do some walking. Yesterday a couple who I'm staying with took me driving around the region ad the first place we went to was Culloden. I'm not completely sure why this is so important but this is where the Jacobite forces were slaughtered by the Hanoverian army on 1 April 1746. 1,200 Jacobites and 400 Government soldiers were killed on that day. Next we went to Balnuaran of Clava and this place is a graveyard 3-4 thousand years old. But what is weird about this place is the tombs there. They are about 10 meters across filled with rocks with a entrance and a small circle in the middle. Surrounding these are old tomb stones of all different ages. Quite weird actually.

Today was mostly spent going to the Loch Ness and taking it easy, having some lunch, before the rain
Edinburgh Castle
started and headed back to Inverness.

Yeah so to the West for me next for a couple of days then going to have a go at the mountain!

I wasnt able to post this blog for a couple of daysso a little behind. I am in Skyeon the West coastnow and today did a climb up a four hur climb up a mountain by myself. It was amazing with the only sound beinga hawk flying above and a waterfall close by. The last two photos are just quick pick from the top so the next blog is going to have some really great ones! Tomorrow for my Birthday I an going for a six hour hike between two mountains so could be out of range for the day. I am really starting to get into this hiking thing now!

Well best be going to get organised for tomorrow..


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Edinburgh CastleEdinburgh Castle
Edinburgh Castle

From the mountain
St Anthonys ChapelSt Anthonys Chapel
St Anthonys Chapel

Looking up at the mountain I just climbed
St Anthonys ChapelSt Anthonys Chapel
St Anthonys Chapel

Looking up at the mountain I just climbed


25th April 2007

happy birthday
We hope you have a Happy Birthday Slug. Enjoy your day and don't party too hard. Love Sandra, Robin, Tahnee and Kieran
25th April 2007

happy birthday
happy birthday man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! looks like ya really enjoying yourself mate
26th April 2007

happy birthday
happy birthday!! forgot to say it when i was talking to u. hope ya having fun.i'm still waiting for all of my presents to arrive!!
27th April 2007

The Slug
Gday Slug, Happy Birthday mate for the other day and hope it didnt rain too much on ya hike. Did ya get out on the town. Theres a good night club in Cowly St called the Church and just up from that a real good joint sort of like Shanno's called the two sisters if ya get back to Edinbourough. Still the same here mate as ya'd expect. Spose you've heard the footie scores. We play Longford this week and should get over em then a 70/80's night and Ive bought the worst clothes the op shop had. Dutchy leaves tommorrow too and Ive gave him your mobile. Anyway wont be long and I'll be over there with ya. We might cut back on the Museums though and have a big crack at the pubs! Cant wait. Will be in touch. Tommo

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb