The Mountain with its Head in the Clouds


Advertisement
Published: June 12th 2018
Edit Blog Post

As John Keats once surmised whilst overlooking the rugged Scottish terrain- shrouded in mist- on top of the British Isles' highest peak; "Read me a lesson, Muse, and speak it loud / upon the top of Nevis, blind in mist!". Luckily I had the good fortune that day to see Ben Nevis from a distance down below, and captured a spectacularly clear picture of the iconic snow-capped mountain, a feature in much of the Scottish lore of a romantic time gone by.


As this image was taken during the winter season, I have not yet set out to climb the 1,345 metres of mountain. However, as I've only just moved to Edinburgh and am currently in the process of organising all of the adventures I'm planning to undertake in the coming months, Ben Nevis is certainly on my list! I am told that getting a shot as clear as this is quite rare, so fortune was certainly smiling upon me that day.


Ben Nevis comes from the Gaelic words Beinn Nibheis; Beinn being the Gaelic word for mountain, while Nibheis meaning venomous. However, the mountain also has another translation which I prefer, and is also known as the mountain with its

head in the clouds.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb