A Day at the Home of Golf


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Fife » Saint Andrews
August 11th 2017
Published: August 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

32 years ago, this 29 year old Assistant Pro from Houston CC, teed off at 8:10 with a pounding heart and the fear that the widest fairway in golf would not be wide enough. It was then and was today! However, this year I needed the 2nd tee for my approach. From there forward, our host, Justin, and another R&A member, Angus, were the perfect caddies, historians and friends on the fairways.

We took the famous pics in front of the R&A as a fourball and with Mike. We both hit into and out of some famous bunkers, Mike in Specticles in front to the 5th and I took my medicine on the following fairway bunker at 6. I flaged my 2nd shot on the 10 on to receive the applause from the guys on the 9th tee as I flaged the wrong flagstick - I stiffed the 8th (white flag) some 120 feet from my actual target. Unfortunately, for Mike, he followed, then made the most amazing 2-putt the length of a rugby pitch. On 18, I lipped out to a back left pin from middle right and Mike did the same from the back edge. The crowd (about 30) applauded both and we had our moment in the sun.

Lunch followed Gin and tonics with wines from the finest wine list in the world. After two mandatory "Kummels" we traveled to the Himalayas for an intense rematch, I finished 3-0 on the day with great partner in Justin, sneeked passed Mike to level the series and captured the putting and the press with a perfect mix of oil in the engine.

the Dunvegan was our last destanation where new friends were waiting - they will all be coming to SA and St Francis Links

???️- scroll down for pics

Ps my caddy from 1985 came up and hugged my from behind and we shared memories after the game. We rekindled our friendship


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

32 years later32 years later
32 years later

Alan and I became friends at St Andrews, After years, we reunited athe '05 Open and have remained in touch ever since. After years in business away from golf, raising his daughter, he returned to what he loves, caddying on the ladies tour and making the day special for everyone he meets at the Old. Hat a guy!


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb