Day 1: Leaving John O'Groats (A Start to The Trip South)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Caithness County » John O'Groats
September 1st 2017
Published: September 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Along the Route... test picAlong the Route... test picAlong the Route... test pic

Along the Route... Test Pic
Technically, not the start, as I did the John O'Groats start signpost yesterday, after I left the ferry, and then I cycled off to my Glamping Pod.

Breakfast at the Sea View Hotel, with coffee reinforcement for the day ahead. Then, headed off on today's journey and was 2kms in when I started having chain issues again. Checked and loosened binding chain as best as possible. This seemed to work for a while, then worsened. I decided I will have it looked to at in Inverness. I tinkered, rode on, then total failure. After checking everything, I notice one jockey wheel on my derailleur had departed somewhere behind me. So,...not going anywhere at this point.

I knocked on a couple of rural doors and no answer, then I found a rural clinic and was able to get a cab, for myself and my bike, over to Thurso (16miles away). The bike shop had just opened and the owner took the bike right in. We tried a used replacement, but the threads were stripped on the retainer pin. After replacing the derailleur and the chain with new, and a quick test ride, I was ready to get back on the road... Thank you to "The Bike Shop" and owner for the quick fix and knowledge imparted. Apparently, labour on Shimano parts was free for my bike (possible owner's discretion on this one).

As I was now in Thurso, I reroute down the busier A9, to try to make my destination of Dalchalm. While busier than the typical bike routes, it was in a quiter zone of Scotland, so the traffic, while fast, was sparse. Not much room to spare on the road, and you come to expect a series of vehicles to follow a truck blast. The cycle went well, a few long inclines and I rejoined the south coast road at Latheron. I also had the joy of braking down the steep hill/hairpin at Berriedale followed by the steep, slow, exhausting climb back up again. Fortunately, I have learnt to pick up booster juice and energy snacks if I see a shop, as shops and food services may be rare, and if found, may not be open.

Made campground at Dalchalm by 5:30, set up tent after ice cream rejuvenation, and headed into Brora for food and drink. Went in along a golf course trail, as it was the route suggested by campground operator, rather than the narrow A series road (I took my flashlight for trip back). I returned along same route, after a hearty meal and brew at the Sunderland Inn. I stumbled back through the golf course on the way back, and I thought I was going to be sleeping in a sand trap,as the route back was not as well defined in the dark, and my flashlight was a little bit to timid. Happily, eventually I made it to tent and then was out for the evening.

On my to do list .... check Royal Mail cost to send a few articles of clothing back to Newcastle.... weight is not my friend, although it will become easier, but some articles will probably not be used.

Advertisement



5th September 2017

Excellent writing
Good work Alyn. Nice to see you are on your way and navigating the challenges. Wouldn't be an adventure without the unexpected challenges thrown your way. I especially enjoy the stories of the people you meet along the way. Keep them coming!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb