U-turn and back to Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Argyll » Oban
April 10th 2007
Published: April 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!!
Sorry if this e-mail is brief or vague but i just responded to my e-mails in my inbox after not checking for a week (so if you wanted more detail blame Sophie as she had sent me 3 e-mails!!!).
So anyway when i last left the post i had just spent some time in Colchester with my Aunt and Mum and had travelled down to Mersea for some really nice seafood (I had a big bowl of mussels!!) and a walk around (where there was sand Daniel ... SAND!!).
Anyway the next few days were mostly spent organising trips to various places which i'll tell you about as they occur (wouldn't want to spoil the surprise!!!). I was going to go somewhere over Easter but to travel was really expensive and everything was booked up so instead i decided to head back to Scotland with my mum and aunt for Easter. So Wednesday we travelled all the way up the UK by car which took all day!! Not much happened that day except that Muffin, who is normally one of the least stinky dogs ever, got excited about the car trip and panted for most of the journey meaning that the car stank of dog breath the whole time!!
So on Thursday we were in Oban which is slightly North of Glasgow and to get there you have to drive on this really beautiful drive around Loch Lomand (and this time we didn't crash!!). We headed down to the beach area of Oban (as it is a holiday town), which is really pretty and has lots of large ferries around. We bought some nice prawns and calamari from a vendor on the beach and then some really nice salmon sandwiches. Oh, the seagulls were the largest i've ever seen - they looked about twice the size of Aussie ones!!!! Friday was the first day we started to sort out the house, which we've done everyday since then except I didn't on Saturday. We are sorting it out because we are selling it soon, but it actually hasn't been bad at all sorting it out. I've laid my claim to way too many old books that i have no way of getting back to Aus but i refuse to admit that and keep expecting a miracle. I've also been sorting out slides and trophies and other things. There have also been lots of walks with my Aunt and muffin up to "the dark place" - which about three or four years ago used to be where there was suddenly no street lights and at night the end of the street was plunged into darkness which was really creepy - unfortunately they've now built a house at the end so it isn't anywhere near as scary anymore.
On Easter Saturday i took the day off sorting and caught the ferry to the Isle of Mull. The ferry trip was really beautiful (i'll put photos up soon) and i landed in Craignure which is a tiny town so i then caught the bus to Tobermory. This is a really pretty town that has a row of shops facing a bay. All the shops are different colours and there are hundreds of boats in the bay! From there i took a random walking path and headed off. Eventually it led me to a lighthouse via some amazing views. I'd run out of time so i headed back to catch the bus and then the ferry back to Oban. All in all it was a good day out.
I think that is all my news, but i might have to add another post if i think of something - i just wanna get out of the internet cafe (i'm sooooo hungry!!).
Cya
Alex



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Me and Mum with my new tentMe and Mum with my new tent
Me and Mum with my new tent

My Aunt insisted on taking a photo of us with the tent, however we had already started taking it down so the only bit that was still up was the front!


12th April 2007

Hey Sexie Lexie!!!! he he
Hey Alex, hows it going? Thought id leave a comment so it actually shows i look at your blog which i do all the time!!!! Shhh dont tell Trent lol. My connections have given me your email so I may be writing to u in the near future. Hope i havnt scared u or "intimidated" you too much. Iv given you a heads up so when i do email, u dont jsut delete my message thinking its junk!!.....Cya......Love Connie :)
15th April 2007

Put it to use
Dear Sir/Madam It has been brought to my attention that the superquick dry towel given to you by my client (Miss McLellan) has yet to receive mention within your online report of events. My client (Miss McLellan) will be taking action should this trend continue. She is left bitter and twisted that her gift to you has been put to little or no depicted use. Please rectify the situation or we will be forced to take further action Faithfully Globdollock and Frentargy Associates
16th April 2007

Heart broken.
Why havent you called me? Its been over a month! Did our time together mean nothing to you?

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb