Scotland - Easter 2011


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Aberdeenshire » Ellon
April 22nd 2011
Published: June 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

My first trip from was home was a very long 12 car journey to Scotland. Luckily, as I'm only 3 months old, I managed to sleep most of the way. When I was awake Uncle Matthew got to entertain me with Colin the caterpillar and my other toys.

It was exciting being my first trip away, but also very sad. The reason for our trip was to scatter my great-grandads ashes near his childhood home. I didn't get to meet my great-grandad (he died just 10 days before I was born), but mummy told me he was one of the best men around!

Mummy and daddy took me to see some of our relatives in Ellon, near Abeerdeen. Lots of my great-aunties and uncles were there too, plus nanny, grandad and great-granny. I loved all the attention and they loved me, especially as I was on my best behaviour :-). As well as spending time with the family we also spent a day going up the coast to see lots of beaches, habours and cliffs.

On the way home we had a day in Edinburgh. First Mummy, daddy and Uncle Matthew took me to Edinburgh Dungeons. Mummy didn't think it would be a very good idea, but chanced it anyway. After sleeping for over half of the tour in mummy's baby carrier, I woke and was happy for a while. Then one of the scary dressed actors jumped out at mummy, she screamed and so did I! Me and mummy left after that. Once daddy and Uncle Matthew finished the tour we saw a bit more of Edinburgh. I had great fun being pushed around the castle and seeing the boats at the docks. Most of all though I loved sitting at the top of the open top bus. There was so much to look at.

The next day we had the long drive home. I enjoyed my first trip away, but I'm really looking forward to my first real holiday in Lanzarote. Not long to wait...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb