Interesting...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Aberdeenshire » Aberdeen
February 6th 2009
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Once again, it is SNOWING here. I am not too happy about this, but whadda gonna do?

Yesterday, Aberdeen held what they call a Re-Freshers Fair. This is almost identical to Eau Claire's BOB festival they have in the spring and fall. All the different societies and clubs on campus set up shop in one building and try and get you to join their particular society. I signed up for the International Society because they do a lot of trips that are cheap throughout the year. The other society I signed up for, (Wisconsinites, you would be proud), The Malt Whiskey Society. Their is a 3 pound fee to be in the society, which is not bad. When they meet, they basically get to taste about 10-15 pounds worth of whiskey for about 3 pounds. We will tour distilleries and meet once a week to do some whiskey tasting. I said "SIGN ME UP!"

I did some more walking around and saw this table that seemed to be handing bags of candy. I waited in line, got my bag, and put it in my backpack. When I got back to my room later that evening and looked, I realized that my candy was actually condoms. They put like 3 pixie sticks, a sucker and about 9 condoms in this bag with directions for use. Way to go Lauren....I just wanted candy!!!

Last night, about 15 international students went out for dinner. We decided to walk downtown to save money. The bus is 1.50 one way, and we are poor. It took us about an hour, a lot longer than we anticipated. We got to the restaurant, which is a VERY old church turned into a pub/restaurant. The name of it is "Soul." 😊 Pictures of the inside to be posted shortly....

I am gonna attempt to save more money and do laundry in the sink...I bought a Sham-Wow towel, (don't judge), that I think will actually help out a lot. I also have a clothesline, so we'll see how that goes😊

Happy Birthday Mom! (Feb 5th)

Cheers! 😊😊😊




Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb