There can be only one


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Aberdeenshire » Aberdeen
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

To call today eventful would be a bit of an understatement. For starters, we had a decent breakfast in the castle, then we were forced to leave the high style to which we had grown accustomed and depart for the highlands. However, before this part of our adventure began we all assembled at the bus, early mind you, for the “surprise stop” that was not on our itinerary. I thought this was going to be something incredibly lame, but I was rather wrong.

It turns out that by “surprise” our tour manager meant going to The Old Course at St. Andrew’s and checking out the home of golf for about an hour. I was far more than impressed by this, some might say “delighted,” I would say, “Giddy as a school girl.” It was amazing! Absolutely amazing! For starters, it is smaller than I imagined, but they always are. Second, it was the windiest place I have ever set foot. But walking the reverse of the 18th, crossing the bridge, and looking back at the first tee was one of the most amazing experiences I have ever, or will ever have.

The entire time I was the resident guide, as I know more about St. Andrews than anyone who has never been there should. I was lucky enough to see a group tee off at the road hole before retiring to the clubhouse and relaxing, taking in the majesty of the place.

We then proceeded onward and upward, specifically into the Scottish highlands, more specifically to the Glenlivet distillery.

The highlands are brilliant. I can’t describe it, just think of the most beautiful place you’ve ever been, and then imagine it more, just more everything. It’s bigger, it’s greener, the sky goes on further, it’s more beautiful. Just everyting.

The distillery tour was as expected, how it’s done followed by a tasting, not bad. This tour did, however, give us the birth of a new game. On each tour, whichever person is able to work the question, “Is it true that if you don’t use it, you lose it?” into a question to the guide is owed a pint by the other players of the game. Guess who won the first round.

We then went on to our hotel in Aberdeen. This place was strange. It was small as hell and smelled, but it was in the highlands, so what can you do? The town however was probably the smallest town I have ever seen. It consisted of about two streets, but it had three pubs, which is brilliant. We spent most of the evening in the hotel bar, singing along with the singer who was playing that night, a little much of effects and processed backing tracks, but not bad. We also spent a lot of time laughing at the can of “Cock a Leekie” soup I purchaced (best 85p I’ve ever spent).

Most people started petering out at that point and we hit another pub. Strangest thing I have ever witnessed, the sun was still out past midnight. That seems a bit off to me, but hey, it’s the sun, what can you do? The bartender was a bit brusk and actually unplugged the jukebox during a song to tell us to leave. Ahh, gotta love the local flavor.

We then sat around the lobby and talked for about an hour. We were all a bit overwhelmed at being in the highlands, and being that remote. It wasn’t what we were expecting, or the liveliest of places, but all in all, I wouldn’t trade it for a thing.

I must say, it will take an enormous amount for anything to come even remotely close to being as cool as St. Andrew’s. Even without playing there is something in the way the place makes you feel that is hard, if not impossible, to describe. Sufficed to say, if I have anything that even resembles a chance of playing there, I am taking it. No question.

Another thing, funniest statement ever. One of the South African, Michelle, girls was talking about the very small umbrella she bought in Edinburgh and said, “I was not impressed by that at all. It’s very disappointing.” Man, I love different colloquialisms.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb